Jump to content

  •  

Recent Reviews


Search Articles




User Reviews




My Odyssey

Mar 21 2015 11:46 AM | Gil V in User Reviews

I think what Coulter did was remarkable. They made the best they could with what they had, and brought large apertures to the public at an unheard-of price.

All things considered, I am thrilled with my Odyssey.



Read story →    -----

Review: Starlight Instruments Direct Drive System

Mar 21 2015 11:27 AM | Maz929 in User Reviews

Starlight Instruments, Feather Touch’s new Direct Drive System is ultra high resolution focusing, in a class by itself.



Read story →    -----

Innovations Foresight On-Axis Guide and Starlig...

Mar 17 2015 08:21 AM | GazingSkyward in User Reviews

Would I recommend the ONAG?  Absolutely.  The benefits of near-infrared guiding on-axis are not simply theoretical, you can see them right there in your guide camera images and in the results that you take home at dawn.

Read story →    -----

The Celestron C80 ‘ Regal’ Spotting scope. And...

Mar 14 2015 06:28 AM | Waxing Gibbous in User Reviews

In summation, if you’re like me and get the shakes taking your expensive glass into the bush, then you can do much worse than the C80 Regal.

Read story →    -----

The Celestron C90 Maksutov Cassegrain Telescope

Mar 02 2015 04:41 PM | skyaddict in User Reviews

For those of you starting out in astronomy, or simply looking for a small portable telescope for quick looks and travel, the C90 deserves further investigation. Indeed, at the price, it is difficult to justify not buying one!

Read story →    *****

William Optics Zenithstar 71ED and Twilight I M...

Feb 28 2015 10:42 AM | Ahab in User Reviews

Wow, it’s a match made in heaven! I can observe at the zenith without compromising the controls or OT or going into contortions. As a unit it’s light enough to carry in and out of the house or for reasonable distances. It’s solid, stable and can fit in my car when broken down.



Read story →    *****

If you want to Master your craft, read Lessons...

Jan 07 2015 11:10 AM | AstroDad in Books & Software

Lessons from the Masters: Current Concepts in Astronomical Image Processing (Springer, 2013.) edited by Robert Gendler is an essential addition to library of every serious astrophotographer. Gendler, who edited this 387 page work is himself a Master of the art and science of astrophotography with a rich portfolio of astrophoto accolades and achievements, including 107 NASA APOD selections. Gendler is a physician by profession and therefore technically an "amateur" astronomer. However he routinely teams with the world's leading professional observatories to create masterful images from their exquisite data sets.

Read story →    *****

Celestron Ultima 80

Dec 16 2014 03:18 PM | Gianluca67 in Other Telescopes

I had the opportunity to observe the sky with this spotting scope during my holidays last Summer. My Father in law happened to own the Celestron Ultima 80 for nature watching and shooting sport and had left the scope at his holiday house near the seaside where I spent my holidays with my family. The sky there is pretty good so you can see 5.0-5.5 magnitude stars with the unaided eye at the zenith.

Read story →    -----

10 Micron GM1000HPS --- My Experience

Dec 15 2014 12:14 PM | sayitfast in German Equatorial

My first setup was working OK for me. I had a Celestron 11 inch HD scope a Hyperstar, Atik camera and a Celestron CGEM mount. I was getting images that I thought were wonderful and was overall very happy. The one major pain point I had was set up time and accuracy of the mount using was not always a fast fun experience. I found the CGEM mount overall worked well but there were some things that frustrated me which I will not go into here. I also wanted to do more advanced imagery… namely Satellites and Comets and I wanted it to be as easy as possible of course.

Read story →    -----

Altair Astro Starbase Tripod Review

Dec 06 2014 08:14 PM | Timothy Giles in User Reviews

From the moment I saw it, to putting it together and using it over 3 months - I have been extremely happy with the Starbase. It costs a bit more than a T-Pod 130 but its specifications are also far greater. The build quality is as good as it gets, the design is engineered well and executed perfectly.

Read story →    *****




Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics