Jump to content

  •  

Recent Reviews



User Reviews




Explore Scientific AR 102

Feb 09 2016 10:02 AM | phxbird in User Reviews

My overall impression is outstanding! It is a great deal for the money, even at the non-sale price of $399. At the current sale price of $299 it is almost a steal! The optics are very good, the fit and finish are outstanding and it is light and portable. Overall, it is a real bargain.

Read story →    ****-

Review: davejlec's Paralellogram Mount

Feb 08 2016 11:13 AM | H-D Moose in User Reviews

CN member davejlec designed and built an excellent product. His price was extremely reasonable (especially compared to the commercially available options for 10lb. capacity parallelograms), and he went above and beyond to support me – the buyer.

Read story →    -----

Annals of the Deep Sky, Volumes One and Two

Feb 08 2016 09:59 AM | desertstars in User Reviews

This past summer (2015) saw the release of the first two volumes of an ambitious new astronomy series written by Jeff Kanipe and Dennis Webb, the authors of the well-received book, The Arp Atlas of Peculiar Galaxies: A Chronicle and Observer's Guide. The series carries the lofty title of Annals of the Deep Sky, and has already been compared favorably to the much-loved Burnham’s Celestial Handbook.

Read story →    -----

Discovery 17.5” Split Tube Dobsonian Telescope

Feb 07 2016 09:16 AM | clay1022 in User Reviews

I love this scope, I knew it was what I wanted the moment I saw it. Not a bunch of poles to put together, collimation holds, no stray light in the optical path, dew is not an issue, and it is just a base and two pieces, 3 minutes and I'm together, another 2 minutes tops and Im collimated.

Read story →    -----

REVIEW OF SUMERIAN OPTICS ALKAID 16” TRAVEL SCOPE

Nov 26 2015 05:32 AM | alexvh in User Reviews

If you want a high quality scope that is also transportable then this is about as good as it gets. Honestly I have owned several high quality scopes and this is one of the most refined ones available. I am overall very happy with this scope, and it is now my most used instrument.

Read story →    -----

Astrotrac TP3065 Pier Review

Nov 20 2015 07:45 AM | James Waters in User Reviews

I purchased the Astrotrac TP3065 pier because of its carrying capacity and design. The pier performs well, is stable, well made and has a padded shoulder carrying bag. It can also carry a heavy load.

Read story →    -----

Apo-tmosphere: Gutekunst ADC Review

Sep 23 2015 11:11 AM | pbsastro in User Reviews

Having apo-optics is not enough if we have achro-atmosphere. That is why I called this review Apo-tmosphere, because that is what this ADC brings to us.

Read story →    *****

Optolong LRGB Filter Testing and Comparison wit...

Sep 22 2015 01:16 PM | turbo399 in User Reviews

I was recently contacted by Optolong, a filter manufacture in China who asked me to test their filters. They sent me a set of 36mm un mounted LRGB and a set of 36mm Narrowband Filters, H-Alpha 7nm, OIII and SII 12nm. I was impressed when they arrived, nice packaging and presentation in a similar plastic case to the Baader.

Read story →    -----

First Light Review: Teeter Custom TT Planet Kil...

Sep 04 2015 12:34 PM | Zellmer in User Reviews

About a year ago I decided to get back into astronomy after a 7 year hiatus. I live in the Portland OR metro area, where the weather can be astronomically gloomy for long stretches of time. Previously I had concentrated primarily on Astrophotography (published in Sky & Tel and Astronomy magazines), and have owned a wide variety of scopes and mounts

Read story →    -----

The Baader Planetarium Morpheus

Aug 20 2015 10:27 AM | BillP in User Reviews

Morpheus, in Greek mythology known as the god of dreams, and now the new Baader Planetarium entry in the field of high-performance wide fields.  In field tests, Morpheus eyepieces proved themselves to be a very sizable step up in both performance and ergonomics compared to the older Hyperion line.

Read story →    ****-




Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics