Jump to content

  •  



Search Articles




User Reviews




Celestron Ultima 80

Dec 16 2014 03:18 PM | Gianluca67 in Other Telescopes

I had the opportunity to observe the sky with this spotting scope during my holidays last Summer. My Father in law happened to own the Celestron Ultima 80 for nature watching and shooting sport and had left the scope at his holiday house near the seaside where I spent my holidays with my family. The sky there is pretty good so you can see 5.0-5.5 magnitude stars with the unaided eye at the zenith.

Read story →    -----

10 Micron GM1000HPS --- My Experience

Dec 15 2014 12:14 PM | sayitfast in German Equatorial

My first setup was working OK for me. I had a Celestron 11 inch HD scope a Hyperstar, Atik camera and a Celestron CGEM mount. I was getting images that I thought were wonderful and was overall very happy. The one major pain point I had was set up time and accuracy of the mount using was not always a fast fun experience. I found the CGEM mount overall worked well but there were some things that frustrated me which I will not go into here. I also wanted to do more advanced imagery… namely Satellites and Comets and I wanted it to be as easy as possible of course.

Read story →    -----

Altair Astro Starbase Tripod Review

Dec 06 2014 08:14 PM | Timothy Giles in User Reviews

From the moment I saw it, to putting it together and using it over 3 months - I have been extremely happy with the Starbase. It costs a bit more than a T-Pod 130 but its specifications are also far greater. The build quality is as good as it gets, the design is engineered well and executed perfectly.

Read story →    -----

A Beginner's Look at GoTo Dobsonians and th...

Dec 06 2014 05:27 PM | jayhall0315 in User Reviews

Overall, I really like the Orion XT10g. I give it 4.5 out of five stars. It takes the large apertures, lower cost and simple base of the classic Dobsonian design and upgrades it to allow modern motorized GoTo targeting for a complete newbie. The tracking is very good, and becomes excellent once PAE is performed for a specific section of the sky under observation.

Read story →    *****

Binocular review for 20X80 Konus Giants

Dec 06 2014 05:24 AM | orion61 in User Reviews

Konus really knocked it out of the park with these. I have looked through other large binoculars costing 2-3X as much, with these as good or actually better!

Read story →    -----

Hutech IDAS LPS-P2 vs Chroma LoGlow

Dec 01 2014 12:45 PM | bill w in User Reviews

As a testament to the fact that I purchase too many filters, I was given a Chroma LoGlow filter to test. So I've compared it the the Hutech IDAS LPS-P2 filter which many (including me) consider the gold standard light pollution filter.

Read story →    -----

WO XWA 9mm Eyepiece Review

Nov 29 2014 10:01 AM | timmbottoni in User Reviews

I really like the WO XWA 9mm. It really has me rethinking trying to buy more eyepieces from this line because even though a 9mm is a heavily used focal length, I think a 20mm would be perfect for my old Celestron C8 SCT. It is just a really crisp and fun eyepiece to use, and if the other focal lengths are as good as this one, this is going to be a real winner for William Optics.



Read story →    ****-

Three Deep Sky Video Cameras for Under $100

Nov 26 2014 03:43 PM | CA Curtis 17 in User Reviews

Video astronomy has been around for more than 20 years. And most will associate it with lunar, solar and planetary imaging/viewing. However, with the advances in video surveillance cameras and astronomy specific adaptations of these cameras in the late 90's and early 2000's, video cameras have been increasingly directed at a wide range of deep sky objects. While it is possible to spend hundreds of dollars to nearly two thousand dollars on some of the latest video astronomy cameras, I have been amazed at the depth and breath of deep sky objects which are accessible with cameras available for less than $100.

Read story →    ****-    EAA

Sky-Watcher Flextube Dobsonian: SkyLiner 400p GoTo

Nov 26 2014 12:52 PM | Magnitospheria in User Reviews

Overall, I love this telescope, it has a few niggles but in terms of the purpose it was built for, and the purpose I wanted it for, it serves excellently. However, its size and its bulkiness are a serious problem, on reflection, if I was to go back and buy again, I would go for the 14" version, the 16" is that little bit too large for it to be practical. Over all though, I am very fond of this scope, and you'd be hard pushed to find something better for the price.

Read story →    -----

The Atmospheric Dispersion Corrector

Nov 26 2014 11:18 AM | Leo Aerts in User Reviews

We cannot influence the seeing conditions, but the refraction can certainly be kept under control; this is not well known in he amateur astronomy society.

With this article we wish to change this.



Read story →    -----




Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics