Jump to content




Search Articles




User Reviews




Sky-Watcher Flextube Dobsonian: SkyLiner 400p GoTo

Nov 26 2014 12:52 PM | Magnitospheria in User Reviews

Overall, I love this telescope, it has a few niggles but in terms of the purpose it was built for, and the purpose I wanted it for, it serves excellently. However, its size and its bulkiness are a serious problem, on reflection, if I was to go back and buy again, I would go for the 14" version, the 16" is that little bit too large for it to be practical. Over all though, I am very fond of this scope, and you'd be hard pushed to find something better for the price.

Read story →    -----

The Atmospheric Dispersion Corrector

Nov 26 2014 11:18 AM | Leo Aerts in User Reviews

We cannot influence the seeing conditions, but the refraction can certainly be kept under control; this is not well known in he amateur astronomy society.

With this article we wish to change this.



Read story →    -----

Review of the LHIRES LIte Spectroscopy by Shely...

Nov 26 2014 11:09 AM | buynoski in User Reviews

The LHIRES Lite is a great hit at daytime public presentations; everyone likes color, and the detail in the spectrum impresses people. It’s a winner. I also use it as part of an in-class show about the Sun that has been very well received by schoolchildren. It can also present spectra of spectral calibration lamps, compact fluorescent bulbs, etc. These are not so visually impressive as the solar spectrum, but still show nice detail and are good for teaching purposes.

Read story →    -----

Istar 228 First Report

Nov 26 2014 10:38 AM | VZsohar in User Reviews

I am confident that my Istar 228 mm refractor build is a worthwhile project. I found that this instrument is awesome for observing deep-sky objects and fantastic for viewing the Moon. I enjoyed a lot about the planning and building of this refractor. Moreover, I continued to like it a lot during the first two nights of observations, and I will continue to do so in the future.

Read story →    -----

Phone/Tablet Apps and the Practical Astronomer

Nov 24 2014 02:43 PM | tom_fowler in User Reviews

How can an astronomer harness the great power of these new devices, without wasting enormous amounts of time figuring out what is really useful?

Read story →    -----

Review - Orion Optics UK 12” f4 Solid Tube Dobs...

Nov 24 2014 12:06 PM | nicknacknock in User Reviews

Top quality mirrors, strong ergonomics, a fantastic focuser, super light OTA and very quick and easy transportation and setup are the key benefits of this telescope.

Read story →    -----

Product Review: Celestron Advanced AVX Mount w/...

Nov 24 2014 11:41 AM | ktkottas in User Reviews

Would I recommend this system? The answer is yes but make sure to purchase the scope from a reputable dealer who has the ability to check the scope out before shipping. This sometimes costs a bit more but is well worth it (I wish that I had done this).



Read story →    -----

The Meade Infinity 102 AZ

Nov 22 2014 12:42 PM | Bill Steen in 100mm - 110mm Refractors

The Meade Infinity 102 AZ Altazimuth Refractor A Review by Bill Steen September, 2014 This review is in response to feedback I requested and received on an article submitted to Cloudy Nights on my thoughts on the two new lines of Meade entry level scopes, the Infinity Altazimuth and Polaris Equatorial series. After a few weeks, I received a cryptic email from Meade telling me that an Infinity 102 AZ Refractor and a Polaris 130 Equatorial Reflector were being sent to me for my review, with no other words.

Read story →    -----

SkyWatcher ED Esprit 120mm Apochromatic Triplet

Aug 17 2014 10:36 AM | DarrenT in 120mm - 130mm Refractors

I have always said that if I had to go from having a couple of scopes to one in weighing aperture versus portability, contrast and almost crystalline view, then that one scope would be a decent aperture refractor. This 120 might just be the ticket.

Read story →    *****

Product Review - Bresser Messier AR-127S/635

Jul 08 2014 10:15 AM | Van Webster in User Reviews

For the price, this telescope is a good value but don’t expect the performance of a top imported scope, at thousands of dollars more out of pocket.  Set reasonable expectations and you won’t be disappointed.

Read story →    *****




Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics