Jump to content

  •  

User Reviews


Stardust Gallery LED Lightbox and Metallic Print Review

Feb 25 2017 11:42 AM | Jovian Admirer in User Reviews

The owner of Stardust Gallery, Craig, was looking for volunteers to review an LED backlit lightbox containing either a Hubble image or an image of user choice. Since I had what I felt were fairly decent Milky Way images acquired from a session at a dark sky site late last Fall, I thought one of the somewhat processed images might be a good candidate to display inside one of the Stardust Gallery backlit lightboxes, and eagerly forwarded the image to the website.

Read story →    5 comments    -----

Rayox Saddle Review

Feb 25 2017 10:48 AM | Derek Wong in User Reviews

The Rayox dovetail saddle (regular price $449 with adapter through Woodland Hills Telescope, with an initial discount for Cloud Nights members) is a breakthrough product that has significant advantages compared to existing systems, especially when working with heavy equipment. If this system had been available earlier, I could have avoided some potentially dangerous situations…

Read story →    4 comments    -----

MoonLite NiteCrawler Focuser

Feb 25 2017 10:24 AM | Katz in User Reviews

I have been using telescopes for film and limited CCD use for well over 20 years, and because of extensive business travel coupled with a spouse who cannot access the observatory due to disability, I needed a product that would be solid, reliable, allow for remote precise FOV rotation, temperature compensation, no requirement to find a zero-point and reinitialize the position of the drive motors, and easily adaptable to various optical tubes. As an engineer and former aircraft mechanic, I demand a great deal out of the build quality of anything that I own as well.

Read story →    0 comments    *****


Celestron Cometron 7x50s Review

Feb 25 2017 09:04 AM | Augustus in User Reviews

This review describes the Celestron Cometron 7x50s including my initial impressions along with examination during actual use for around 1 month. I live in a suburb in New England under Bortle 6-7 skies. I have 3 telescopes, the oldest of which I have had for one year.

Read story →    1 comments    -----

Astro-Devices (of Ukraine) Parallelogram Standard II Pro

Feb 23 2017 04:04 PM | Dhellis59 in User Reviews

This will not be a comprehensive, or even scientific review. I will just share what I would have wanted to know if considering purchasing one of these parallelograms.

Read story →    1 comments    -----


Review: Explore Scientific 16”, Europe edition, late 2016

Nov 12 2016 12:32 PM | brebisson in User Reviews

I have been considering buying or making a 16 incher for a while now. Mirrors only (if you wanted to make your own scope) cost at least 1200€ to 1400€ (Hubble optics or GSO, not counting import duties and shipping cost). So, when I learned that Explore Scientific had a European sales on their Ultra Light series, placing the 16” at 1698€, I jumped on it!

Read story →    9 comments    ****-

VITE 2X Barlow Lens Review

Nov 10 2016 02:13 PM | jfriz in User Reviews

This review describes the VITE 2x Barlow lens including my initial impressions of build and optical quality. I observe from a suburb in the southeast U.S. I have one telescope, an 8-inch Dobsonian, and have had it for approximately five years. The photos included in this review represent my first crack at astro-imaging. I wanted to try prime focus photography with my DSLR but my focuser does not have enough in-travel to do so. I used the Barlow to achieve focus with my telescope/focuser/camera combination.

Read story →    9 comments    *****


Sky Commander Review

Oct 30 2016 09:04 AM | Feidb in User Reviews

With such a long dry spell in 2016, I started pondering how to get the most bang for my buck when I finally did get out with the scope. Just think. For the past fifty years, I’ve been manually searching for and finding objects, up to around two-thousand at this point. However, as time has worn on, I thought about it. On the past few observing sessions, going back a couple of years, my yield slowly dwindled. Why?

Read story →    17 comments    ***--

Wireless Control of Canon EOS DSLRs with DSLR Controller and TP-Link MR3040 Wireless Router

Sep 26 2016 12:29 PM | emag in User Reviews

When doing astrophotography, most of us use a laptop for camera control, autoguiding and image display. At public outreach stargazes we often just want to take a single time exposure in order to show visitors what 'that fuzzy blob' they see in the eyepiece really looks like, it's often not at all convenient to set up a laptop. A tablet is an excellent tool for image display, but there's still the problem of a USB cable from the tablet to the camera. Many tablets don't even have a full size USB connection or require a special adapter or cable, but they all have WiFi. That's great if you're using a camera that has WiFi capability but what about those DSLRs that don't? Enter the TP-Link MR3040 Wireless Router.

Read story →    25 comments    *****


Review of the 18” f/5 Otte binodobson

Sep 26 2016 10:55 AM | PeterDob in User Reviews

Sometimes, aperture fever can lead to a severe case of brain damage. The kind that compels you to make a purchase that by all acceptable standards would be considered insane. Such is the case for those who decide to buy a gigantic binoscope. Already much has been said about the huge disadvantages of the binodobson. After all, there must be a reason why almost no telescope manufacturing company offers them. But are these prejudices true or are they merely based on assumptions without any real experience to back them up? In order to find out, me and my friends of the astronomical society of Trentino in northern Italy have put my new 18” binodobson to the test.



Read story →    25 comments    *****



Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics