Jump to content

  •  



Search Articles




Books & Software




Software: Meagastar

Apr 02 2010 10:17 AM | Feidb in Windows Software

I love this program. It not only has almost every object I could possibly see with my 16” scope, it has ways to select them and

Read story →    -----

Observing Handbook and Catalogue of Deep-Sky Ob...

Apr 02 2010 10:01 AM | Feidb in Observing Books

I'm a hard-core observer and love nothing better than a good reference book with information that is relevant to my goals. Since my friend Roger and I started an Observer's Challenge with the

Read story →    -----

Atlas of the Messier Objects: Highlights of the...

Mar 19 2010 06:10 AM | admin in Observing Books

My first thought when I picked the book up was that this was going to be some heavy reading. Literally. The book weighs over five pounds and measures 12 inches by 10 inches, weight and proportions combining to make the book somewhat awkward to holding while reading. This is not a book to

Read story →    -----

IRAF/PYRAF Software

Jan 06 2010 11:21 AM | jcely7 in Special Intrest Software

IRAF, which stands for Image Reduction and Analysis Facility, is a collection of very powerful astrophysical software. It is widely used for image reduction and data analysis for

Read story →    -----

Astronomica - Book Review

Jan 06 2010 10:28 AM | bacesp in General Interest Books

My good friend Dave recently gave me a very large and heavy hardback Astronomy book titled Astronomica. This book is

Read story →    -----

Starry Night Special Edition v5.0.3 Software

Jan 06 2010 08:26 AM | Ed in Illinois in Windows Software

I've found this free software to actually be quite invaluable! It's extremely useful when you want to

Read story →    -----

The Night Sky Planisphere

Jan 06 2010 07:43 AM | lemonsensation in Star Charts

This large version is about 8 inches in diameter. The text is pretty small. As someone who is new to astronomy and my need to rely on a planisphere to orient myself, I would have

Read story →    -----

The Moment of Creation: Big Bang Physics from B...

Jan 06 2010 07:24 AM | Gmurray618 in General Interest Books

Ever wonder where it all came from? Professor Trefil has and he dose a Big, bang up job of explaining it. The book is divided into three parts

Read story →    -----

Cambridge Double Star Atlas

Jan 06 2010 07:08 AM | Feidb in Observing Books

The book is well organized, has listings for over 2000 double stars, and includes all the Struve numbers. Every double star listed is highlighted in green on the specialized

Read story →    -----

Two Guides to Observing Deep Space Objects - Bo...

Jan 06 2010 06:52 AM | dwright in Observing Books

I've been using the two books in this review (along with other references) to track down open clusters and other prey suitable for binoculars and small refractor while figuring out what to get for a

Read story →    -----




Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics