Jump to content




Mounts




The iOptron MiniTower - Part 2

Jan 15 2010 07:12 AM | john cameron in Alt-Azimuth

First, I am convinced that iOptron, a young company, wants to develop quality products and, since my March review, it has engaged in a program of quality control improvement. For example, Dr. Hou contacted me shortly after my review was published to

Read story →    -----

Universal Astronomics Unistar Basic Mount

Jan 06 2010 08:45 AM | mikee in Alt-Azimuth

The mount arrived well packaged in about a week and had a small instruction manual (2 pages really). The first thing I noticed was that

Read story →    -----

My Adventures in Fixing a Meade LXD75 Mount

Jan 06 2010 08:05 AM | Middle Age Man in German Equatorial

I purchased the LXD75 mount used in June of 2006 and I'm not sure if the seller was the original owner so I'm not sure of its vintage. The mount did not come in its standard configuration as it had

Read story →    -----

Sunpak Platinum Plus 7500TM Tripod/Monopod

Dec 29 2009 12:10 PM | aa5te in Tripods and Piers

The tripod serves its function with flying colors in my book. It is just a little shaky with 8.5 lb. binoculars on it, but it steadies out soon enough (a second or so). I find that the tightening screws

Read story →    -----

Manfrotto 501HDV Head with the Oberwerk L- Ada...

Dec 24 2009 06:33 AM | admin in Tripods and Piers

The 501 is one fine piece of engineering. Designed for the heavier HD camcorders, it provides more than ample stability for most large astronomical binoculars. The all-metal construction with a 13.3 lb payload limit gives it the ability to

Read story →    -----

Vixen Mini Porta Mount

Dec 23 2009 08:19 AM | Midnight Dan in Alt-Azimuth

What I received surprised and disappointed me. But more on that later. Let’s start with the basics. I set up the mount with my Orion ST80 for a quick photo shoot

Read story →    -----

Vixen Porta Mount

Dec 22 2009 09:15 AM | admin in Alt-Azimuth

The Vixen comes in what seems to be three models. First is the Mini Porta Mount which weighs 6 pounds and is rated at 8 pounds of load capacity, and sells for around

Read story →    -----

Orion Sirius Goto Mount

Dec 18 2009 06:45 AM | John F Smith in German Equatorial

I have used the Celestron C8 and C9.25 optical tubes and an Orion ED 80 refractor. For imaging I use the StarlightXpress SXVF H9 CCD camera with a TruTech Filter wheel. I use a

Read story →    -----

Updating the Sirius Dovetail Base

Dec 10 2009 09:14 AM | dsnay in Mount Accessories

First let's see what the new dovetail looks like and compare it to the original. Figure 2 shows the original Vixen dovetail as shipped from Orion and Figure 3 shows Anthony's upgrade

Read story →    -----

SHOWDOWN: The iOptron CUBE PRO vs. The Nexstar...

Oct 13 2009 06:35 AM | john cameron in Alt-Azimuth

As promised in my April review of the iOptron MiniTower, I purchased and have spent many hours testing the iOptron Cube Pro

Read story →    -----




Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics