Jump to content

  •  



Search Articles




Telescopes




Celestron Ultima 80

Dec 16 2014 03:18 PM | Gianluca67 in Other Telescopes

I had the opportunity to observe the sky with this spotting scope during my holidays last Summer. My Father in law happened to own the Celestron Ultima 80 for nature watching and shooting sport and had left the scope at his holiday house near the seaside where I spent my holidays with my family. The sky there is pretty good so you can see 5.0-5.5 magnitude stars with the unaided eye at the zenith.

Read story →    -----

The Meade Infinity 102 AZ

Nov 22 2014 12:42 PM | Bill Steen in 100mm - 110mm Refractors

The Meade Infinity 102 AZ Altazimuth Refractor A Review by Bill Steen September, 2014 This review is in response to feedback I requested and received on an article submitted to Cloudy Nights on my thoughts on the two new lines of Meade entry level scopes, the Infinity Altazimuth and Polaris Equatorial series. After a few weeks, I received a cryptic email from Meade telling me that an Infinity 102 AZ Refractor and a Polaris 130 Equatorial Reflector were being sent to me for my review, with no other words.

Read story →    -----

SkyWatcher ED Esprit 120mm Apochromatic Triplet

Aug 17 2014 10:36 AM | DarrenT in 120mm - 130mm Refractors

I have always said that if I had to go from having a couple of scopes to one in weighing aperture versus portability, contrast and almost crystalline view, then that one scope would be a decent aperture refractor. This 120 might just be the ticket.

Read story →    *****

1966 Sears 76mm f/16 Equatorial Refractor - "A...

May 18 2010 07:20 AM | Guido Santacana in 60mm - 78mm Refractors

The year was 1966 and the day was the 25th of December. Early that morning I woke up and joined my brother, sister and first cousin in the quest to see what Santa had delivered under the Christmas tree. There was a corrugated cardboard box wit

Read story →    *****

Meade 60mm Refractor : Paperweight or Powerhouse?

Apr 20 2010 06:38 AM | phxbird in 60mm - 78mm Refractors

Never go on Ebay if you don't want to spend money! One night I was rooting around to see what great deals I could find. There was a time when I missed out on a $5,000 sports car that I could have bought for $450 had I just looked in the next barn! Do not want to make that mistake again especially when it comes to telescopes. I Saw a Meade 60mm refractor advertised for

Read story →    -----

Orion Star Seeker 80 Goto Refractor

Mar 23 2010 06:51 AM | admin in 80mm - 90mm Refractors

The reasons I chose to purchase this scope are manifold. Firstly, was the price, I was looking for a wide field goto refractor that wouldn’t break the bank as the poor economy has hit us all. I paid $269.95 for this scope delivered and it regularly sells for $329.95 plus shipping, so

Read story →    -----

Celestron EdgeHD 8" SCT

Mar 19 2010 06:42 AM | Eddgie in Schmidt-Cassegrains (SCTs)

The EdgeHD marks a milestone in commercial SCT development. In the standard SCT design, the primary and secondary mirrors are both spherical. As designed, the standard SCT has inherent off axis coma and a

Read story →    -----

Takahashi Sky-90 SV

Feb 19 2010 08:14 AM | admin in 80mm - 90mm Refractors

When I received the scope, it was just as many said it was going to be. Packed extremely well and very well built. However, I didn’t deem it any more well built than my Vixen 80ss. In fact, the Vixen is more attractive, and the focuser

Read story →    -----

Borg 77ED SWII Ultra Light Refractor

Jan 27 2010 07:22 AM | JayKSC in 60mm - 78mm Refractors

In operation, the focuser movements are smooth provided that heavy diagonals and eyepieces are avoided. With my orthoscopics or plossls combined with a 1.25-inch diagonal, I found the helical focuser provided

Read story →    -----

TeleVue 76 Doublet Apochromat Refractor

Jan 15 2010 07:30 AM | astroneil in 60mm - 78mm Refractors

Tele Vue has enjoyed great success throughout the United States as producers of high quality optical products for the discriminating visual observer and more recently for the advanced astro-imager. Even after 30 years, Tele Vue eyepieces are made to a standard by which all other designs are compared and are

Read story →    -----




Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics