Photo

New Celestron Ultima DX 10X50 impression

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
6 replies to this topic

#1 RussL

RussL

Music Maker

Posted 23 March 2008 - 01:12 AM

First light this past Thursday night. This is not a very technical report on them as I do not have any truly accurate tools to measure with other than a metric ruler, but I have studied the concepts of what specifications mean as applied to binoculars extensively. I'm no professor, but no dummy.

First of all, the construction feels sturdy enough. I believe they would hold up in the field. Friction is nice and stiff for iinterpupillary adjustment (the way I like it, at least). They seem to hold their position well. Also, diopter adjustment is stiff, almost too stiff for me, especially for use with the thin, almost sharp (due to the stiffness) tabs that protrude from the adjuster. Focusing is smooth with a proper resistance, but herein lies my first fault with these binoculars, namely an undue amount of play in the mechanism. This is most annoying to me, making it difficult to reach optimmum focus when changing directions. I have overcome this by usually trying to reach optimum from one direction only. But this should not be necessary, of course.

Image quality is stunning to me as compared to what I have been using. I cannot compare these to higher quality binoculars since I do not have experience enough. But to those who are looking to upgrade from cheap optics and coatings I would recommend these, based solely on image quality. And the price is moderate. (I found these for one-third the list price).

Exit pupil appears to be 5mm, and aperature 50mm. I cannot speak for effective aperature or magnification.