• Please log in to reply
44 replies to this topic

#1 jshine

jshine

Explorer 1

• -----
  • Loc: Rochester, MN, USA

Posted 19 May 2008 - 09:17 PM

Last year I wrote a web application that uses the Google Maps API & a map of North American light pollution from the Dark Sky Association to provide a guide to potential dark observing sites in the US. I also incorporated a database where users could mark & annotate their own favorite sites:

http://www.jshine.ne...onomy/dark_sky/

I posted this to another forum on CN at the time, and it's been online for maybe 8-9 months now. Unfortunately, as a graduate student I just don't have the time to devote to maintaining & improving this site. There are some additional useful features that I'd like to implement, but just don't have the time for... I do think it's a potentially useful resource though, and I'd hate to see it languish.

If anyone knows of a person or organization that might be interested in taking over this application, I'd be more than happy to release what I currently have in an open-source format under a public license like the GPL.

Thanks,
Jon

#2 Tony Flanders

Tony Flanders

Voyager 1

• Loc: Cambridge, MA, USA

Posted 20 May 2008 - 05:17 AM

Last year I wrote a web application that uses the Google Maps API & a map of North American light pollution from the Dark Sky Association to provide a guide to potential dark observing sites in the US. I also incorporated a database where users could mark & annotate their own favorite sites:

http://www.jshine.ne...onomy/dark_sky/

I do think it's a potentially useful resource though, and I'd hate to see it languish.

It's an exceedingly useful resource. I have a few questions:

• Have you approached Atilla Danko, of the Clear Sky Chart? It seems right up his alley.
  • Do you plan to keep the site that you currently have? It's great even without improvements.