• Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#1 danm

danm

Mariner 2

• Loc: Northern California

Posted 27 July 2008 - 10:34 PM

Hi,
Total newbie here, I've heard offhand that a fast focal ratio is good for imaging - why, if true?

If this is true than why do many imaging setups have a long focal length (f/9 for the new AT RC scopes)

#2 blueman

blueman

Photon Catcher

• Loc: California

Posted 27 July 2008 - 11:14 PM

Fast is easier because it has a larger Field of View and the demands for a mount are much less. Slow long focal length scopes and the small pixel size associated with them, make it necessary to have very accurate tracking.
Blueman

#3 Rusty

Rusty

Hubble

• Loc: Brooker, FL

Posted 27 July 2008 - 11:49 PM

And faster FRs allow shorter exposures. Focal length doesn't affect exposure times, but as blueman mentioned, makes tracking more critical. Longer focal length (at the same FR) just provides larger images. The compromise is that longer focal lengths have a wider CFZ (Critical Focus Zone).

#4 Jeffkop

Jeffkop

Lift Off

• -----
  • Loc: Alstonville NSW Australia

Posted 28 July 2008 - 04:45 AM

My advise ... If you are new to this, get a small refractor. I needed this advise when I started but didnt get it ... So I chose poorly for my first scope (Cassegrain) ... and it was unworkable for imaging ... bought a refractor ... employed the same principals as the first scope .. but now get pretty reasonable results ... and it wasnt the first scope .. it was me .. dont put yourself thru it ... believe me .. there are many hurdles to clear ... dont make one you dont have to jump at this stage or you will either waste some money or lose interest in the hobby.
Anyway thats my 2cents worth.

Jeff

#5 danm

danm

Mariner 2

Posted 28 July 2008 - 09:16 AM

Hi Jeff,