• Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 Don G.

Don G.

Lift Off

• -----
  • Loc: San Bernardino, CA

Posted 11 August 2008 - 04:35 PM

My name is Don Giandomenico and I am fairly new to amateur astronomy. A few months ago I had purchased my first scope, a Nexstar 8SE to use in my back yard to get acquainted with the night sky. It wasn’t long before I became interested in the idea of astrophotography so I researched the subject a bit to see what was involved. Polar alignment seemed to be one of the criteria for long term exposures to eliminate image rotation. Unfortunately there weren’t too many folks reporting great success in polar aligning the Nexstar Alt-Az mount. It seems that the alignment procedure would not cooperate for most or the factory Celestron wedge itself was giving them problems.

I really wanted to give Polar alignment a try to at least learn about it so I purchased the Celestron equatorial wedge (Cat #93658). After a few weeks of messing with the alignment procedure I was able to get accurate go-to performance from my Nexstar 8SE Alt-Az mount. Since then I have refined my alignment procedure and I though I would share it with others that may be interested in trying to polar align their SE mount. The following procedure is the one I developed to be used with the Celestron equatorial wedge and has worked on my scope ever since: