Photo

New deep sky planner: Eye&Telescope 3.0

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
6 replies to this topic

#1 Thomas Pfleger

Thomas Pfleger

Vendor - Eye&Telescope Software

• -----
  • Vendors

Posted 23 January 2009 - 06:24 AM

I would like to introduce a deep sky planning, charting and logging application I've been working on for several years. It is called Eye&Telescope. The first version was released in 2002, the second came in 2005 and now the third is ready for shipping in Europe.

E&T 3.0 has a German AND English user interface and documentation. Therefore it is now an offer to all observers who read this post. The english documentation was reviewed by native speakers, so no one will have to suffer from my mistakes or style.

What's so interesting and useful with E&T?

First of all, it deals with the "can I see XY with my scope" question - what is the most important question for everyone who assembles an observation plan. E&T uses a perceptibility estimation method that takes the object's data, the scope's data and the faintest star (sky quality) into account to determine the contrast of object and sky and the required threshold contrast. The difference of actual contrast and threshold contrast yields a measurement for the difficulty (or ease) you could see the object.

Second, E&T builds a lot of useful functions just around this prediction capability: