NexStar 8 SE Vs NEW Meade ETX-LS LightSwitch 6"

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Light Year

Light Year

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 09 February 2009 - 12:44 PM

Help me decide on a GoTo Reflector telescope with good Performance and Portability for DSO and AP.

I am a beginner interested in investing for long term use.

I am considering the Celestron NexStar 8 SE OR the NEW Meade ETX-LS LightSwitch 6".

Please give your ideas and suggestions!

#2 jgraham

jgraham

Voyager 1

• Loc: Miami Valley Astronomical Society

Posted 09 February 2009 - 01:10 PM

Welll.... the SE is a well-established product with a good track record whereas the LS hasn't begun shipping yet so there's nothing to base a judgment on other than what we've seen so far. The LS strikes me as a gadget scope which has some interesting features and whether or not it's worth it depends on how many of those features are important to you and how well they actually work. Personally, I'm interested in the idea of being able to use a DSI Pro on the LS for observing without a computer, but not so much as a serious imaging platform.

If it were me (and it's not) I'd take a hard look at the SE as a good general purpose scope, though I'm not so sure either would be my first choice for an imaging system. For a long term investment I'd look for more solid basics and fewer gadgets that all too quickly become yesterday's news. For both visual and imaging use (and longevity on a budget) I'd be tempted to also consider the LXD75 or CGE lines.

#3 sailor70623

sailor70623

Gemini

• Loc: Ok.

Posted 09 February 2009 - 01:51 PM

Why not a 8"SE? Then grab a LPI. Much better for visual, and as long as your not expecting more than what a LPI can do, a great set up. For serious AP neither scope.

#4 Luigi

Luigi

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: MA

Posted 09 February 2009 - 04:59 PM