CGEM or CG5 - Imaging.

• Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#1 therocksal

therocksal

Viking 1

• Loc: Everett, WA

Posted 11 February 2009 - 07:30 PM

It's not as easy an answer as the title suggests.

I have a few scopes and want to buy a C8, so I can try some imaging with the C8 and my ED80. I figured I'd get the CGEM not only for a solid AP mount but also for future proofing if I want to get a C11 for visual in the future.
BUT, I'm somewhat of a noob and I don't know if I'll get into this that much....and besides, I want to save up for a house and buy a boat sometime soon. And, I might end up buying a 12" dob instead of a C11...half price, more aperature is a good thing.

I'm assuming I can do imaging fine with the C8 or ED80 on a CG5, especially since I've never done it before...I will be using a DSLR only.

So, I guess I have a dilemma cause I would love to future proof a little but really want to save some money...I know I need to make this decision on my own but for anyone using a CG5 with a C8, can you tell me it's a good match for the price?

Thanks.

#2 Patrick

Patrick

Voyager 1

• Loc: Franklin, Ohio

Posted 11 February 2009 - 10:27 PM

One thing that might be helpful to consider is that used CG-5's seem to hold their value pretty well. If and when you decide to go with a larger scope you can sell the CG-5. At $599, the price is hard to beat and could serve you well as you climb the learning curve. Most of the accessories that make imaging easier will transfer to a larger setup as well, so there's a lot of upside without too much downside!

Regards,

Patrick

#3 HaleBopper

HaleBopper

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: Land of Ice and Snow

Posted 12 February 2009 - 07:05 AM