Jump to content


Photo

Synscan Controller on Atlas mount...?

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
3 replies to this topic

#1 Mark Harry

Mark Harry

    Vendor

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 6188
  • Joined: 05 Sep 2005

Posted 21 February 2009 - 07:13 AM

Does anyone know if the Synscan controller will work with Orion's Atlas mount? The mount is the newer version that accomodates Orions COL, -OR- 2-axis hand controller.
TIA, Mark

#2 Arbacia

Arbacia

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1057
  • Joined: 18 Apr 2007

Posted 21 February 2009 - 07:46 AM

Yes, is the same hand controller. Get one with the golden "Synscan" label (v.3; the silver type are the older V.2 non-actualizable hand control)

In fact I have the Atlas head with tripod from EQ6 Pro and the Synscan Kit for EQ6 Pro.

#3 Blixx

Blixx

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 531
  • Joined: 02 Dec 2007

Posted 21 February 2009 - 02:06 PM

So if I get the V.3 HC from Skywatcher than it will make the mount a goto system?
Dan

#4 Skylook123

Skylook123

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 7495
  • Joined: 30 Apr 2005

Posted 21 February 2009 - 05:30 PM

If it's the new generation Atlas, then the only difference between the EQ and EQ-G is the SynScan hand controller.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics