Jump to content


Photo

EQ-6 installing GoTo components

  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 PhilCo126

PhilCo126

    Gemini

  • -----
  • Posts: 3235
  • Joined: 14 Jan 2005
  • Loc: coastline of Belgium

Posted 02 March 2009 - 03:38 PM

I would like to install GoTo components & computer on my EQ-6 skyscan mount, which nowadays can only follow an object...
How difficult is it to install these components and could someone point out some kind of installation manual...
The mount:

Posted Image

#2 TheMenace

TheMenace

    Messenger

  • *****
  • Posts: 424
  • Joined: 21 Oct 2008

Posted 02 March 2009 - 04:17 PM

Hard to find the kits anymore.
Grab one if you can.
Doesn't really look like it would be that difficult to install though.

:shrug:

Telescope service

#3 Skylook123

Skylook123

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 7487
  • Joined: 30 Apr 2005
  • Loc: Tucson, AZ

Posted 02 March 2009 - 05:09 PM

KW Telescopes in Canada is reported to be about the last place to still have some of the kits available, and Dr. Brady Johnson there is a great help. I don't have a URL available on this computer, though; Mr. Google may be your friend.

#4 ragebot

ragebot

    Surveyor 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 1852
  • Joined: 26 Aug 2005
  • Loc: Tallahassee, FL, USA

Posted 02 March 2009 - 05:23 PM

I did this upgrade on my Atlas some time ago. Basically it was plug and play.

You unscrew the cover plate, pull out some wires with plugs and a card after unscrewing some more, plug the wires back in, and screw the plate back in, and finally screw in the new cover plate.

You might want to check out shoestringastronomydotcom and EQASCOM. You can buy a some wires from shoestring and download the free software and use some thing like CDC, or other free astronomy programs, to make your Atlas/EQ6 a virtual GOTO with the aid of a laptop; all at prices you can afford.

#5 John Carruthers

John Carruthers

    Skiprat

  • *****
  • Posts: 3543
  • Joined: 02 Feb 2007
  • Loc: Kent, UK

Posted 03 March 2009 - 03:22 AM

just put a link in a thread above about the vixen sp kit, AWR also do kits for the eq6 http://www.awrtech.co.uk/ih/ih_eq6.htm

#6 PhilCo126

PhilCo126

    Gemini

  • -----
  • Posts: 3235
  • Joined: 14 Jan 2005
  • Loc: coastline of Belgium

Posted 03 March 2009 - 11:24 AM

Looks like a serious upgrade costs about Euro 1100 so it might be better to buy an additional GoTo mount such as the Celestron CGEM
... or GoFor an even greater leap on towards the new CGE:
http://www.galileo.c...hp?ref=CL-91524
:question:

#7 Steve4328

Steve4328

    Vendor (KW Telescope)

  • -----
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: 10 Dec 2008
  • Loc: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

Posted 05 March 2009 - 06:15 PM

As Jim "Skylook123" says above, we do have upgrade kits available,and they are in short supply as Skywatcher has stopped making them. They are much cheaper than the 1100 Euros mentioned. Send me a private email if you want more info.
Cheers,
Steve
info@kwtelescope.com

#8 PhilCo126

PhilCo126

    Gemini

  • -----
  • Posts: 3235
  • Joined: 14 Jan 2005
  • Loc: coastline of Belgium

Posted 08 March 2009 - 05:26 AM

Indeed, here in Europe there're still alot of those upgrade kits available at US $ 400.00 with handcontroller etc included. However changing the motors doesn't seem to be that easy :( as shown in this full maintenance video:

http://www.youtube.c...h?v=a8G-gpCpQ20
:(

#9 PhilCo126

PhilCo126

    Gemini

  • -----
  • Posts: 3235
  • Joined: 14 Jan 2005
  • Loc: coastline of Belgium

Posted 08 March 2009 - 02:45 PM

I'll do my IYA2009 good gesture of the year and ditch this EQ-6 at a local astronomy club :grin:
Uploaded a new photo:
Posted Image
:grin:

#10 astro_baby

astro_baby

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 998
  • Joined: 17 Jun 2008
  • Loc: United Kingdom

Posted 08 March 2009 - 02:51 PM

The guy on the video looks like he is stripping down the DEC axis rather than refitting the motors.
I just upgraded an HEQ5 which would be similar to the EQ6

Basically you take the side panel off, take off the existing gears, remove the motors, replace the new motors and gears, install a new controller board and thats about it. Its quite simple.

The only curse I had was my HEQ5 decided to start binding so I had to readjust the worm engagement which was a pain but not that hard.

Its s shame Synta have stopped doing the upgrade kits as theres a lot of mounts out there.

#11 Chote

Chote

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 293
  • Joined: 31 Oct 2005
  • Loc: Bangkok, Thailand

Posted 10 March 2009 - 11:16 AM

I have the 1st version of EQ6, just order the upgrade kit from kwtelescope. Installing the kit is easy as mentioned above. You need to check the gear mesh before completing the upgrade.

#12 Charlie Hein

Charlie Hein

    Voyager 1

  • *****
  • Administrators
  • Posts: 12307
  • Joined: 02 Nov 2003
  • Loc: 26.06.08N, +80.23.08W

Posted 10 March 2009 - 11:19 AM

Indeed, here in Europe there're still alot of those upgrade kits available at US $ 400.00 with handcontroller etc included. However changing the motors doesn't seem to be that easy :( as shown in this full maintenance video:

http://www.youtube.c...h?v=a8G-gpCpQ20
:(


It only took me about 15 minutes to convert the mount start to finish. It's not difficult at all.

Charlie

#13 PhilCo126

PhilCo126

    Gemini

  • -----
  • Posts: 3235
  • Joined: 14 Jan 2005
  • Loc: coastline of Belgium

Posted 10 March 2009 - 12:35 PM

Thanks for the replies, it will become a project for our young club members
:thanx:






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics