Photo

Does this happen to you?

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
16 replies to this topic

#1 mikiek

mikiek

Apollo

Posted 06 March 2009 - 11:27 AM

Hi everyone - I'm still pretty new to sketching and seem to have run into a wall. I've posted a few lunar sketches and have been really pumped about pursuing this area of astronomy.

About a month ago, I went out one night with the intention of doing another lunar sketch. I got my equipment set up, my table with all my art tools laid out, scanned the moon for a while, found some good subject matter, studied it for a while, sat up and grabbed a charcoal to begin and BLAH! Body and mind just couldn't do it. I struggled for about 10 minutes and finally gave up. Sadly since then I have had several similar episodes and have not yet been able to produce another sketch.

Just wondering what you guys do to get out of a funk like that?

#2 Jeremy Perez

Jeremy Perez

Vanguard

Posted 06 March 2009 - 12:08 PM

Hey Mike,

I've gone through something similar. A little more than a year ago, I physically burned myself out pulling a couple weeks of all-nighters sketching and writing about Comet Holmes. For months afterward, I had a sort of post-traumatic reaction to the thought of going out & observing or sketching. As soon as the thought entered my mind, I lost all energy and felt instantly like I wanted to fall asleep. It was horrible. I still don't think I've completely recovered.