Photo

Mount Opinions

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
10 replies to this topic

#1 abrock5

abrock5

Explorer 1

Posted 12 March 2009 - 06:51 PM

Hello all. I am new to CN and new to astronomy as well. A little background first. My wife got me a Celestron NexStar 6SE for Christmas. I loved it and after some thorough internet research, decided that I really wanted to get into astrophotography. However, the 6SE is less than ideal for this. I've taken some 30 second unguided shots of Orion w/a Canon 40d, and a few split second shots of the moon, but I want to get more into it. Therefore I am looking to get a new mount and refractor as an "intro" setup. Looking to maybe get a SkyWatcher 80ED, use the 6SE OTA for guiding, and image w/the 40d. Now the question. What is a good mount in the $1500 range? Was looking at the CGEM since I am familiar w/Celestron, but I know there are many other choices. My needs are for it to hold all the above equipment (although I could buy a smaller refractor to guide if the 6SE is too heavy for $1500 mount) plus an autoguider. Mainly though, I want good quality so I can take clean long exposure shots. Easy polar alignment and some sort of PE correction would be nice as well. Anyway, sorry for the long post, but I look forward to your opinions.
AB

#2 therocksal

therocksal

Viking 1

Posted 12 March 2009 - 06:57 PM

CGEM....I'm getting it for my C8 and future EON 72 combo.

#3 Fortune07

Fortune07

Vostok 1

Posted 12 March 2009 - 07:42 PM

Check out the Atlas EQ-G, it is a great mount, it will hold all of the equipment you listed Plus. the non-go-to version is listed for about $1200, for another $100 or so you can add go-to and control features with EQMOD. The Atlas comes with a polar alignment scope and is beefy enough to grow with you. It has an ST4 port for autoguiding and mine worked well right out of the box no mods required. Just my 2cents worth but I'm really happy with mine.

#4 Lane