Jump to content


Photo

Atlas Motor failure. HELP!

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 SGT500

SGT500

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5093
  • Joined: 03 Oct 2006
  • Loc: Sarasota, Florida

Posted 15 March 2009 - 06:55 PM

Hello,
I took my atlas out for a normal night of astrophotography.
i did everything the same. however when the mount started to slew i heard a click. and it didnt even start to slew. I tried to do it manually but still the mount wouldnt slew. I turned it on and off only to find the same results. If i turn on the handset and try to just slew the scope without an alignment the motors will click for a split second. then they will stop and the handset light will blink. After this the blink the motors wont respond at all to the handsets commands.
Please Help me
Thanks
Sal

#2 SGT500

SGT500

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5093
  • Joined: 03 Oct 2006
  • Loc: Sarasota, Florida

Posted 15 March 2009 - 08:12 PM

Nevermind. I figured it out. I was making a dumb mistake :foreheadslap:

#3 Skylook123

Skylook123

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 7491
  • Joined: 30 Apr 2005
  • Loc: Tucson, AZ

Posted 15 March 2009 - 08:40 PM

Is it worth telling us so we don't make the same mistake, or would you then have to change your user name? :question: :lol:

#4 David Pavlich

David Pavlich

    Transmographied

  • *****
  • Administrators
  • Posts: 27523
  • Joined: 18 May 2005
  • Loc: Mandeville, LA USA

Posted 15 March 2009 - 09:01 PM

It's ok...we all do dumb things. When I got my first CGE, I crossed the RA and Dec cables. I was not a happy person....until I realized, in my haste to get the thing going, I had the cables wrong. :foreheadslap:

David

#5 SGT500

SGT500

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5093
  • Joined: 03 Oct 2006
  • Loc: Sarasota, Florida

Posted 15 March 2009 - 09:21 PM

David,
Hahaha thats exactly what i did. I used the wrong power cable. I was upset because i thought my mount was broken. I was relieved to find out it was just a stupid mistake.
Although i wish i could have gotten a nice image tonight :(

#6 Skylook123

Skylook123

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 7491
  • Joined: 30 Apr 2005
  • Loc: Tucson, AZ

Posted 16 March 2009 - 01:12 AM

I've swapped the AZ and EL cables on my DSCs so doggone many times! Really gets dicey at a public outreach where a crowd is waiting to be shown eye candy. :tonofbricks:

#7 SGT500

SGT500

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5093
  • Joined: 03 Oct 2006
  • Loc: Sarasota, Florida

Posted 16 March 2009 - 05:54 AM

Haha with all the cables these things take its no wonder they get mixed up on occasion :confused:






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics