Jump to content


Photo

Old EQ mount question here ...

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
4 replies to this topic

#1 werewolf6977

werewolf6977

    Lord High Smasher

  • *****
  • Posts: 9034
  • Joined: 15 Dec 2003

Posted 16 March 2009 - 08:42 AM

I have a non-functional Edmunds 6" Newt on a massive eq mount. The axis shafts are 1" in diameter (approx). My question is could I use the mount head (on the appropriate pier) for The Beast? It's an Apogee 6" F/8 Steel tube Achro that weighs approx 32 lbs. Any input would be appreciated.

#2 werewolf6977

werewolf6977

    Lord High Smasher

  • *****
  • Posts: 9034
  • Joined: 15 Dec 2003

Posted 18 March 2009 - 06:15 PM

Surely, one of you could help me here. :4

#3 Telescopeman54

Telescopeman54

    Vendor - Trapezium Telescopes & Services, LLC.

  • *****
  • Posts: 1715
  • Joined: 16 Aug 2007

Posted 18 March 2009 - 06:27 PM

Yes, it should work just fine. The axle shafts are indeed 1.0" OD. They are supported by Oilite bronze busshings which do an excellent job. The pipe required for your pier is 4" OD.

This will be for visual use though and not photography.

CS

Steve

#4 CHASLX200

CHASLX200

    Soyuz

  • *****
  • Posts: 3516
  • Joined: 29 Sep 2007

Posted 18 March 2009 - 06:42 PM

I think it would work pretty good.

Chas

#5 werewolf6977

werewolf6977

    Lord High Smasher

  • *****
  • Posts: 9034
  • Joined: 15 Dec 2003

Posted 19 March 2009 - 05:29 AM

Thank you very much. I'm not into AP, just visual. Wonder if I could use the legs on the orginal pier? I also wonder if it would feasible to have a Machine Shop (I live 1 block away) fab an extension for the pier.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics