Photo

polar alignment question

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
9 replies to this topic

#1 donnie3

donnie3

Mercury-Atlas

• -----

Posted 29 March 2009 - 08:46 PM

im just getting into astrophotography and have a cg-5 mount with drive. the area i observe in is very small and i have to look over trees and roof tops. i cant really get a good alignment with drift or any other method. my question my be wishful thinking but i was wondering if there was a mount that you could polar align electronicly like gps or something of that nature. thanks, don

#2 mclewis1

mclewis1

Thread Killer

• ****-

Posted 29 March 2009 - 10:18 PM

Is your CG-5 a goto mount? If so I'd consider upgrading (if possible) your hand controller firmware to the latest gem 4.15. You need to be at 4.xx to be able to do an upgrade to the firmware ... if your hand controller is using 3.xx then you'd have to replace with an upgradeable one. With 4.15 there is a new All Star Polar Alignment routine which will allow you to choose from a variety of stars to perform the polar alignment of the scope. Even with a quite well obstructed sky you should be able to find stars to do this new polar alignment.

The user guide for this new version is the CGEM user guide available on Celestron's website. For additional info on the firmware upgrades have a look at Mike's site http://www.nexstarsite.com/

#3 donnie3

donnie3

Mercury-Atlas

• -----

Posted 29 March 2009 - 11:10 PM