• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 WilliamAlexander

WilliamAlexander

Lift Off

• -----
  • Loc: N Georgia

Posted 30 March 2009 - 01:02 PM

I am really new to this great site so forgive me if I posted this in the wrong place.

I have been considering purchasing an equatorial wedge for my CPC925. Can anyone tell me what to expect? What I mean is, will the telescope perform well at what will seem (to me, anyway) to be an odd angle for the way it is designed? Are there any weight issues? Etc. etc. .. In other words I don't want to blow the $$$ for the wedge if the scope will be wonky with it.

My reason for doing this is, of course, photography...

I would love to see a photograph of an EQ mounted CPC, if anyone has one.

Thanks,

-W

#2 mclewis1

mclewis1

Thread Killer

• ****-
  • Loc: New Brunswick, Canada

Posted 30 March 2009 - 02:48 PM

The Celestron heavy duty wedge is not generally recommended for the C9.25 and C11. Mitty, APT, and a few others are 3rd party wedges that are heavy enough to handle a scope like the CPC925. They are however expensive (as much as $700). Mounting a C925 on a wedge each night is no picnic ... you have to angle the base of the scope to match the wedge and then get one of the bolts in place before you can let it go.

Most folks with wedges have them on a permanent pier of some form, this helps with stability and in may cases the scope is also left on the mount so there is no setup to do.

There aren't too many fork mounted CPCs ... most folks move to a GEM when they get serious about AP. If I had a CPC and really wanted to get into AP (as opposed to casual interest) I'd consider selling the whole CPC and purchasing a CGEM925. I think you could get $1700 for the CPC, a new CGEM925 is only $1000 more. A wedge will be up to $700 so for $300 you're getting a better AP platform. You will loose some of the convenience of the CPC for visual work but you'll gain much more on the AP side.

#3 mish

mish

Ranger 4

• -----