Photo

Mini Review - Orion VersaGo Alt-Az

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
5 replies to this topic

#1 PAW

PAW

Ranger 4

• -----

Posted 30 March 2009 - 11:54 PM

In search of a simple yet stable mount for a variety of OTA's, I recently settled on an Orion VersaGo mount.

Last year I started purchasing dovetails from Orion for the following telescopes for use on the VersaGo:

80mm Orion Express
130mm Celestron Reflector

Assembly time for the VersaGo was about 20 minutes.

I have no experience with other Alt-Az mounts, but the VersaGo feels stable and is light enough to easily move around.

Stability test: tapping on the OTA and counting 1x, 2x, etc..yielded the following results:

80mm Refractor (Orion Express): less than 1x
130mm Celestron Reflector: approx. 2x

I was even able to mount my 120mm f8.3 refractor, although I have not fully tested that combo yet.

Slewing and general movement of the VersaGo is very smooth.

The handle can be in an upper or lower position (upper position pictured).

Sorry for the poor picture quality...(and yes, I had to modify the dovetail to get it to work with this short tube refractor - an Orion Express 80mm)

Posted Image

#2 Astrobuddy

Astrobuddy

Banned - Duplicate Account

• -----

Posted 31 March 2009 - 10:54 AM

With similar price, you may have an altazi mount with goto.

#3 mischief

mischief

Vostok 1

• -----

Posted 31 March 2009 - 07:58 PM

Hi, Paw,