Photo

Does a really high quality Alt/Az mount exist?

• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 Aquatone

Aquatone

Ranger 4

• -----
  • Loc: California Bay Area

Posted 09 April 2009 - 04:06 PM

A simple question for the Alt/Az mount gurus as I am not an expert in this area. Can anyone recommend a really solid and high quality Alt/Az mount and pier/tripod combination that could handle at least a 160 mm refractor? Ideally it will be compatible with a Losmandy dovetail plate.

Perhaps I have been too spoiled by the battleship solidity of my Astro-Physics GEM's, but I can't see a mount/pier/tripod "system" built to the same level of build quality in the Alt/Az market. I am looking for something I could chain an oil tanker to...

It does not have to be a GOTO though that would be ideal. I have looked at the iOptron but frankly I am not too impressed by the build quality or issues reported in this forum.

Chris

#2 mclewis1

mclewis1

Thread Killer

• Loc: New Brunswick, Canada

Posted 09 April 2009 - 04:12 PM

http://www.discmounts.com/
http://www.tetontele...?cPath=25_36_72

#3 dtsmith

dtsmith

Viking 1

• Loc: Lafayette, IN

Posted 09 April 2009 - 04:21 PM

Don't know if a Half Hitch will handle something that big, but do check out the image gallery at DiscMounts for ideas of how large you can go. It is generally suggested that you replace the DM tripod if you go larger than about a 130 mm refractor.

#4 Tamiji Homma

Tamiji Homma

Gemini

• Loc: California, USA

Posted 09 April 2009 - 10:14 PM

Don't know if a Half Hitch will handle something that big, but do check out the image gallery at DiscMounts for ideas of how large you can go. It is generally suggested that you replace the DM tripod if you go larger than about a 130 mm refractor.

APM 7" f/8 on DM-6/AP Eagle Pier
TMB 180 on DM-6/G11 Tripod

This is my setup WO FLT 152 f/8 on DM-6/G11 extension+G11 tripod:
Posted Image

I think DM-6 can handle AP 160 if you get G11 tripod or better.

Tammy