Jump to content


Photo

8 inch newt on eq5 for astrophotography?(revised)

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 rob0260

rob0260

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 130
  • Joined: 31 Jan 2009
  • Loc: Teulon, Mb., Canada

Posted 14 April 2009 - 12:26 AM

I was wondering if an eq5 mount would carry an antares 8 inch newt. sturdy enough to do astrophotography. I am thinking of ordering this configuration with dual axis drives. Any advice would be appreciated. pic included. (revision) I also intend on mounting it permantly on my concrete peir in my observatory without using the tripod.

Attached Files



#2 dongchina

dongchina

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 42
  • Joined: 19 Aug 2008
  • Loc: Tianjin, CHINA

Posted 14 April 2009 - 01:13 AM

you must reckon the whole weights! Include: Newtonion;dovetail board; tube holders;eyepiece;finderscope; especially the whole counterweights added onto the mount;and all other accessories you will use when observing.

So I do not think that EQ5 can carry.

#3 RogerRZ

RogerRZ

    Whatta you lookin' at?

  • *****
  • Posts: 3140
  • Joined: 09 Jan 2006
  • Loc: West Collette, NB, Canada

Posted 14 April 2009 - 04:25 AM

Do do long exposure, deep sky astrophotography with a telescope this size, the minimum I'd recommend is an EQ6 mount.

#4 Fortune07

Fortune07

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 178
  • Joined: 17 Jun 2008
  • Loc: Adirondack Mountains, Upstate NY, Lake George Area

Posted 14 April 2009 - 05:08 AM

I have imaged with a similar set up and it was a struggle, you are about at the limit for that mount. If you intend to only do webcam imaging you might be ok, but if you add a guide scope and camera, filter wheel and so on, you will be streching it. Since then I upgraded my mount to an Atlas EQ G, with an 8" Newt and a 4.5" guide scope, MUCH better.

#5 RogerRZ

RogerRZ

    Whatta you lookin' at?

  • *****
  • Posts: 3140
  • Joined: 09 Jan 2006
  • Loc: West Collette, NB, Canada

Posted 14 April 2009 - 03:39 PM

My comments stand. The OTA should be fine, but I still don't think the mount is sturdy enough for what you intend to do. You can never be undermounted...

#6 rob0260

rob0260

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 130
  • Joined: 31 Jan 2009
  • Loc: Teulon, Mb., Canada

Posted 14 April 2009 - 04:07 PM

Thanks for the advice to all. Will keep it in mind when I'm ready to purchace.

#7 Bowmoreman

Bowmoreman

    Clear enough skies

  • *****
  • Posts: 9162
  • Joined: 11 Sep 2006
  • Loc: Bolton, MA

Posted 14 April 2009 - 04:40 PM

You MIGHT be able to do an 8" Newt on an EQ5... but only if you had one of the vixen R200SS (f4) and then had it converted to Carbon Fiber by Bobby McCourt... that reduces the weight significantly...

Doing that, I could see you getting the total AP rig down to near 20#, which I think a CG5 could maybe handle...

but if not, if you're going with a slower Newt, and a steel tube...

I'd say save yourself the aggravation... YMMV

clear enough skies






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics