Photo

RCAIDcams & Mods......DSLR users,BEWARE...LOL!!!

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
11 replies to this topic

#1 nofxrx

nofxrx

Vendor (HyperCams & Mods)

• Vendors

Posted 20 April 2009 - 09:57 PM

Hi,my name is Brent Oliver.
I have been an avid ametuer astronomer and astro-imager for ~10 years...nearly half of my life(26yrs old)..
I have learned a LOT through this site that we all love and use to our broaden our concepts of what works and what doesnt..
SO,being that I have been an Electrician for 9years,am ~1/3 way to an EE Degree..Having LOTS of knowledge modding Canon and Nikon DSLR's for AstroImaging use..My first Mod was my ol' Nikon D50..buy,that was the best cam(for me,at the time)I had a blast using it and it served me well.But,after time and experience,both in the field and on here,I decided that the best astro DSLR would be a Modified Canon with some form of regulated cooling..
Hence the name,RCAIDcams & Mods
Regulated Cooling AstroImaging Digital cams & Mods.

I am currently working with my good friend here on CN(Josh,you know who you are :lol: )to develop working prototypes of the Canon XS,Canon Rebel XT,and possibly the FULL FORMAT Canon 5D(or 5DmII)..also in the plans is the 20D(since it has proven itself in the field with numerous users of many different skill sets).
The Regulated Cooling MOD is STILL in development.We plan on having Prototypes built and ready for BETA testing(by NOT ONLY us,I have lined up several others here on CN to BETA test our cams and give HONEST/NON-biased opinions).With the hope of having production models by the Fall/Winter of this year!!!!
Prices are not yet known,details can not yet be given(due to Patent privacy..).BUT,this will be updated with concepts,detailed testing results,and images of the cams in action!!!
So,for NOW,hold on and wait!! :lol: