First light with a Ioptron MiniTower

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 DonBoy

DonBoy

Mariner 2

• -----

Posted 25 April 2009 - 05:02 PM

Well after a lot of soul searching about the MT I decided to go to the NEAF show and see one in person and ask whether I would get jitter free imaging for short exposures. Well I was assured by the Ioptron people at their booth and also a well known dealer/ supporter of the MT that imaging is no problem. In fact this dealer pointed to two large DSO pictures taken using the MiniTower hanging on the back wall of his booth. We liked what we heard and saw and bought one.

After several nights of poor weather we finally had a clear night. I was feeling real good cause I just sold the alt/az mount I had been using for several years and the MT was it's replacement. I was finally able to unpack my new MT and learn how to use it. It took me about 20 minutes by the time I got everything percolating. It took another 10 minutes to really get the hang of things and to get a reasonable alignment.

Feeling confident that I would be able to image, I slapped in my Stellacam video camera that has a maximum 8.5sec. integration time, refocused and started to image M13.

Everything so far had met my every expectation. Goto's were right in the field of view and the image when centered stayed there for a long time, the longest I stayed on a target was maybe half an hour and the image remained in the same general location.