Jump to content


Photo

I got my mount!

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
30 replies to this topic

#1 Starlighter

Starlighter

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4820
  • Joined: 03 Aug 2007

Posted 06 May 2009 - 05:53 PM

The FedEx driver arrived with my new Orion SkyView AZ mount. I noticed the box was pretty banged up so I prayed everything inside was well. It was. Only the outer box was damaged. After mounting a couple of scopes and then checking the tension I can say without reservation that Orion fixed the problem. As you can see from the photo, I have my heavy 41mm Panoptic mounted on the TV-85 and with the tension knob only turned a few twists with plenty left to go, the scope isn't falling. I can hardly wait to test it out tonight under the stars. This appears to be the best choice I could make. The price was right and it's extremely well built.

Attached Files



#2 Starlighter

Starlighter

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4820
  • Joined: 03 Aug 2007

Posted 06 May 2009 - 05:55 PM

I like the fact it has a second screw down lock for the dovetail.

Attached Files



#3 waassaabee

waassaabee

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5151
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2007

Posted 06 May 2009 - 07:10 PM

Nice looking setup!! You are one brave soul setting that up in front of a door like that. My luck the kids would come crashing through while I was taking the picture..

(You can update your sig now...)

#4 Starlighter

Starlighter

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4820
  • Joined: 03 Aug 2007

Posted 06 May 2009 - 08:12 PM

No kids. No worries.

#5 antilles72

antilles72

    Surveyor 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 1717
  • Joined: 06 Mar 2007

Posted 06 May 2009 - 08:23 PM

Quite the setup. Lets hope it works out for you.

#6 Starlighter

Starlighter

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4820
  • Joined: 03 Aug 2007

Posted 06 May 2009 - 10:37 PM

Just came back inside for using it. Works like a charm. In fact, there's now enough tension that I don't need to keep rebalancing the scope each time I change out an eyepiece. Movements are smooth. All it needs is a panning handle. Hey! I wonder if Manny Miles would want to come up with one.

#7 mtb.daily

mtb.daily

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 219
  • Joined: 19 Sep 2007

Posted 06 May 2009 - 10:45 PM

Looks good.....

#8 Starlighter

Starlighter

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4820
  • Joined: 03 Aug 2007

Posted 06 May 2009 - 10:56 PM

It's not just good. This darned thing is superb! If I undo the tension knob on the alt till it's free and I've properly balanced the scope, I can then slew anywhere and then when I stop, the scope remains where I left it.

I'm in AZ mount heaven! :yay: :banjodance: :tomatodance: :woohoo:

#9 Starlighter

Starlighter

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4820
  • Joined: 03 Aug 2007

Posted 06 May 2009 - 11:57 PM

Well, my balloon was slightly burst when I discovered the lock-down bolt on the second dovetail head is bent. It doesn't appear that it happened during shipping. It came bent, maybe from the factory. So tomorrow I'm calling up Orion customer service to get a new one.

Attached Files



#10 skyjim

skyjim

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1624
  • Joined: 13 Jan 2007

Posted 07 May 2009 - 06:48 AM

Hey star, let me know how it works out, I had one before like you but if they have fixed the tension problem, I'd warm up the CC for another try, my wife liked that mount, she said it looked cool in the living room with two scopes on it, she also would come out more and obseve with me too!!
Seen the locking knob shaft being bent I am sure Orions CC will have you fedexed a new one over night, man that mount looks sweet, good luck with it and keep me in the loop.
Jim
BTW thaat TV85 looks sweet on the mount. :bow: :bow: :bow:

#11 Luigi

Luigi

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5320
  • Joined: 03 Jul 2007

Posted 07 May 2009 - 09:11 AM

Mine had a bent one too. They sent a replacement right off the bat.

Check out this insane case deal.

#12 Starlighter

Starlighter

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4820
  • Joined: 03 Aug 2007

Posted 07 May 2009 - 10:10 AM

Thanks for the link to the case.

I just got off the phone with Orion. They're overnighting me another knob.

Other than the bent knob, this is a fantastic mount. They fixed the tension issue. There's even a retrofit available for anyone who purchased the mount before they made the fix. If you contact Orion, they will send it out to you free of charge.

#13 t.r.

t.r.

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4519
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2008

Posted 07 May 2009 - 10:18 AM

Does argo or anyone make a DSC with encoders to fit this mount?

#14 Starlighter

Starlighter

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4820
  • Joined: 03 Aug 2007

Posted 07 May 2009 - 11:26 AM

Funny you should ask. Back when I first ordered the Skyview (the one I had to return), I happened to inquire if they ever planned to utilize their Intelliscope with it was told "no" that no plans were in the works, but the person I spoke with said it sounded like a good idea. Orion has made their IntelliScope computer work with their EQ mounts.

#15 digitaldave

digitaldave

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 287
  • Joined: 23 Apr 2006

Posted 07 May 2009 - 12:39 PM

Good to hear that the new mount is working OK and Orion have fixed it. Shame about the knob, but at least they are going to replace it no problems.

Just wondering... why the change form the Vixen Porta mount?

#16 Starlighter

Starlighter

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4820
  • Joined: 03 Aug 2007

Posted 07 May 2009 - 01:01 PM

I'm not changing. I just wanted to have the ability to mount my C4-R as well as my 6" SCT. Can't do it with the Portamount.

The Porta will be used mostly with the TV-85. It's the perfect mount for that scope.

But when I want to do this, I'll need the Orion:

Attached Files



#17 Starlighter

Starlighter

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4820
  • Joined: 03 Aug 2007

Posted 07 May 2009 - 01:02 PM

Or this:

Attached Files



#18 digitaldave

digitaldave

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 287
  • Joined: 23 Apr 2006

Posted 07 May 2009 - 02:48 PM

Ah, I hadn't thought of that! Looking good, especially the C6 and Meade together. I'd love to have a dual setup like that, but unfortunately I don't think the mount would handle my C9.25 :shocked:.

#19 JimWaterford

JimWaterford

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 85
  • Joined: 20 Jan 2009

Posted 07 May 2009 - 04:10 PM

I hope that the old design, if still in the warehouse, are fitted with the retrofit kit to avoid future owners having to pursue the remedy for insufficient tension. Regards.

#20 deezdrama

deezdrama

    Vanguard

  • *****
  • Posts: 2103
  • Joined: 29 Mar 2005

Posted 07 May 2009 - 04:23 PM

would this mount handle a 120ed pro and a c8??
probablly not- but glad to hear they fixed the issue with this mount.
Nice looking setup!

#21 skyjim

skyjim

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1624
  • Joined: 13 Jan 2007

Posted 07 May 2009 - 04:29 PM

I owned the same mount and now that they have fixed the tension adjuctments on the controls I cant see why not, when I had my C8 and the SW120ED on it the mount had no problems and now with proper tension well it should be real good. I sent my old one back a few month ago but maybe I'll talk with Orion tech support and get another new one out here. Let me know how the controls are in 3 weeks time, if they are the same I'll get my CC charged up.
Jim

#22 JadeSmith

JadeSmith

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 779
  • Joined: 15 Jul 2008

Posted 07 May 2009 - 04:36 PM

I'm kinda jealous now... seems to be a better deal than the EzTouch (wood tripod aside). Double Vixen dovetails (add $70 on the EzTouch) AND the 2nd locking screws are a very nice feature (not available on the EzTouch).
:rockon: :band: :rockon:

Sweet!

#23 deezdrama

deezdrama

    Vanguard

  • *****
  • Posts: 2103
  • Joined: 29 Mar 2005

Posted 07 May 2009 - 05:00 PM

does this come with a 2" dia legged cg5 type tripod as well?
I thought about getting a wooden tripod for my voyager
also thought about a cg-4 or cg-5 mount for the 120ed-
but if this mount would handle the 120ed better than the voyager - I may go with one of these mounts.

#24 Starlighter

Starlighter

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4820
  • Joined: 03 Aug 2007

Posted 07 May 2009 - 05:32 PM

does this come with a 2" dia legged cg5 type tripod as well?
I thought about getting a wooden tripod for my voyager
also thought about a cg-4 or cg-5 mount for the 120ed-
but if this mount would handle the 120ed better than the voyager - I may go with one of these mounts.


No. It just comes as you see it. But stability with the smaller tubular steel legs isn't a problem. Back with the first one I noticed that even with my long C4-R, there was little vibration. This is a well made mount. The problem with the lack of tension was due to the ring inside that applies pressure was not made properly. The Chinese factory fixed it. I could tell immediately with the new mount that this was no longer a problem. This mount eats the SV MG! And it costs half as much.

#25 deezdrama

deezdrama

    Vanguard

  • *****
  • Posts: 2103
  • Joined: 29 Mar 2005

Posted 07 May 2009 - 09:33 PM

are pier extensions available for these?
Any vendor sell just the mounthead?






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics