Photo

Atlas EQ-G Wiggle in RA

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
9 replies to this topic

#1 jmasin

jmasin

Mercury-Atlas

• -----

Posted 19 May 2009 - 07:31 PM

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to this, so this may be normal.

I have an Atlas, on that is mounted Orion's 8" Newt. Orion dovetail and rings, and another Orion dovetail on top of the rings.

I've noticed with everything off, clutches tight that I can wiggle the mount a noticeable amount by grabbing the top dovetail and wiggling back and forth. I found this by accident when mounting the OTA.

Is this normal?

If not, does it mean a tear-down or warranty work?

Thanks for any pointers.

#2 Charlie Hein

Charlie Hein

Voyager 1

• Administrators

Posted 19 May 2009 - 08:45 PM

It's got a little backlash. Does this interfere with your observing?

#3 jmasin

jmasin

Mercury-Atlas

• -----

Posted 19 May 2009 - 10:13 PM

No, definitely not with my observing.

I am trying to image and just starting out with guiding. I'm going through the normal growing/learning pains and was just wondering if this was something to sweat.

(I've been on a lot of boards for different hobbies and seen a lot of newbies with "is this normal" questions, and now I'm one of 'em :) ).

Thanks!

#4 red

red

Explorer 1

• -----

Posted 20 May 2009 - 12:20 AM

I just solved this problem when it popped up after I rebuilt my Atlas. What you need to do is to back out the 3 small allen screws holding the saddle on. After the saddle is removed, you will see a black ring with two small holes in it around the center shaft. Use an adjustable spanner wrench to tighten up this ring and your problem should go away. If you still have questions you can always PM me.

#5 Charlie Hein

Charlie Hein

Voyager 1

• Administrators

Posted 20 May 2009 - 06:14 AM

Hi Jon - Just to make sure we're all on the same page here, when you say this...