Jump to content


Photo

Interesting CGEM issue

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Moggi1964

Moggi1964

    Vendor - Astro Laugh

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 3636
  • Joined: 07 Nov 2005
  • Loc: Madison. NJ. USA

Posted 21 May 2009 - 08:20 PM

I recently got my CGEM and loaded all the software that came with it.

I went out last night to do some imaging and decided that instead of using the 'virtual' handset I would use the real one for the first time to do the alignment.

The real one thinks Vega is in the West :foreheadslap:

The virtual one knows it is in the East!

Can someone explain why this might be so?

Thanks.

#2 LLEEGE

LLEEGE

    True Blue

  • *****
  • Posts: 12896
  • Joined: 03 Mar 2005
  • Loc: Cloud-chester,NY

Posted 22 May 2009 - 06:48 AM

Did you use the city database or manually enter your coordinates?

#3 johnpd

johnpd

    Messenger

  • -----
  • Posts: 455
  • Joined: 12 Apr 2008

Posted 22 May 2009 - 06:49 AM

Did you set up the appropriate location Long/Lat and Time in the hand controller?

#4 rmollise

rmollise

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15693
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Posted 22 May 2009 - 08:30 AM

Did you set up the appropriate location Long/Lat and Time in the hand controller?


And don't forget time-zone and DST status. As shipped, they are set to PST.

#5 Moggi1964

Moggi1964

    Vendor - Astro Laugh

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 3636
  • Joined: 07 Nov 2005
  • Loc: Madison. NJ. USA

Posted 22 May 2009 - 01:00 PM

Did you use the city database or manually enter your coordinates?

I entered manual coordinates so it is possible I entered West instead of East! Wouldn't the virtual one use the settings that the handset has?

#6 Moggi1964

Moggi1964

    Vendor - Astro Laugh

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 3636
  • Joined: 07 Nov 2005
  • Loc: Madison. NJ. USA

Posted 22 May 2009 - 01:01 PM

I will run through the settings again to be sure.

Thanks guys.

#7 coopfore1

coopfore1

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 127
  • Joined: 23 Nov 2005
  • Loc: il

Posted 27 May 2009 - 03:31 PM

both must be setup seperately






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics