Photo

Atlas overhaul...stop me before its too late!

• Please log in to reply
40 replies to this topic

#1 Brodie

Brodie

Explorer 1

• Loc: Washington, La.

Posted 27 May 2009 - 10:19 PM

i've had my atlas eq-g for over a year now. i think i'm ready to open it up and give it a tune.
a few questions:
i know i should super-lube (pack) the bearings...but what about the worm gear. same stuff?
i've heard that this mount out of the box yields about 20 arc secs in periodic error...but a good grease job can get it down to single digits. (is that accurate?)
what is the easiest way to verify the before and after peridic error? (i have no webcam...)
Finally, what am i about to get into? should i even attempt it given that i am not an aerospace engineer (though i did tour NASA once)

#2 Skylook123

Skylook123

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: Tucson, AZ

Posted 27 May 2009 - 11:57 PM

:lol: If it ain't broke...

#3 John Carruthers

John Carruthers

Skiprat

• Loc: Kent, UK

Posted 28 May 2009 - 02:04 AM

Yes the same lube works all over, there are no fast moving parts. The bearings don't need to be packed, a light smear is enough, in fact if the rollers skid instead of rolling they can develop flats.
Things to consider are controlling end float on the worm (needs thrust washers)and the condition of the worm bearings (new will help, fancy ceramic are available). There is no locknut or similar to stop the end float adjustment drifting, another locking ring or some Loctite/nail varnish will help. Maybe drill/tap for a small grub screw here?
The worm axis needs to be on the gear centre line, this is controlled by nylon ring spacers, they may need to be thicker/thinner, teflon sheet is good.
The casting isn't very thick and will flex as the worm mesh is adjusted, allow for some relaxation and work the worm right round the wheel by hand feeling for tight spots.
Note the difference between the RA and dec motor mounting slots, a magnetic screwdriver is a boon when refitting them.