Luna tonight 30th

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 daniel_h

daniel_h

Vanguard

• Loc: VIC, Australia

Posted 30 May 2009 - 05:00 AM

Thought i would try pastel luna with my new blending tool - how wrong was I, felt frustrated could not get nay detail i wanted - thru my new steiner 20x80 (taksharp).
Any advice appreciated how would i go about getting some crater detail, can i use something black on the black paper? i will make a wooden read:harder blending tool to scratch the pastel i think

Attached Files

#2 JimPie

JimPie

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: S.E.Michigan

Posted 30 May 2009 - 11:50 AM

Daniel,
I have no experience using pastels. I'll let those that do give advice.
I will say the moon is in my opinion the most difficult night sky object to sketch (Ive never posted my attempts -there quite bad). I dont think your sketch is bad for a first attempt.

#3 frank5817

frank5817

Cosmos

• Loc: Illinois

Posted 30 May 2009 - 05:44 PM

Daniel,

First of all I like your sketch it shows highlands, maria and earthshine. It's the moon and a waxing crescent at that. :jump:
I can see the texture in your paper. Judging from that I would guess the moon size in your sketch is less than 3 inches(76 mm) across. If that is true it would be very difficult to sketch craters using pastel pencils. You will need a black pastel or charcoal pencil for the shadows and/or you can use a shaped eraser to remove the white pastel to creat shadow. If I were you I would use a larger amount of paper to create a larger sketch.
It is clear from what you have done here that you will be able to sketch the moon the way you want it to look in short order. Do save this sketch so you can watch your sketching evolution and look back to your first moon sketch with white on black. :cool:

Frank :)

#4 rolandlinda3

rolandlinda3

Gemini

• Loc: Crozet VA 22932

Posted 30 May 2009 - 11:07 PM