Photo

Atlas EQ-G "illuminated" polar scope

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
20 replies to this topic

#1 FKelly

FKelly

Sputnik

• -----

Posted 15 July 2009 - 09:24 AM

Finally got a decent CSC for last night and dragged the Atlas outside. I haven't used it since I purchased it so I simply wanted to practice polar aligning it without scopes on it. The light within the scope is really poor, it casts an uneven reddish glow over the reticule. I actually couldn't see Polaris with the light on, and when I switched it off the stars were too faint to accurately align.
Is there something wrong with my PA scope? I have no experience with them so I'm a bit puzzled.

#2 rdegoutier

rdegoutier

Vostok 1

• -----

Posted 15 July 2009 - 10:10 AM

Under the Utility function in the HC, there is a Polar Scope LED adjustment where you can dim the glow down to almost nothing.

#3 jtaylor996

jtaylor996

Viking 1

• -----

Posted 15 July 2009 - 11:13 AM

Extend your counterweight shaft, and make sure the axis is turned properly. Look in the front end of the polar scope to make sure it's not obstructed.

You'd be surprised what you can see if the CW shaft is in the way...

#4 FKelly

FKelly

Sputnik

• -----

Posted 15 July 2009 - 01:44 PM

Thanks guys, I'll turn on the HC tonight and see what adjustments I can make via utilities. When I looked down the front of the PS I saw the red led light, so I know it's not obstructed.

#5 RogerRZ

RogerRZ

Whatta you lookin' at?

Posted 16 July 2009 - 05:12 AM

On mine, you can't adjust the brightness via the HC. The only brightness adjustment in the utilities are for the HC itself.

#6 neptun2

neptun2

Viking 1

• -----

Posted 16 July 2009 - 05:35 AM

It depends on the firmware used. As far as i know the mounts sold by orion usa have the polarscope adjustment and the skywatcher branded mounts does not have it.

#7 Charlie Hein

Charlie Hein

Voyager 1

• Administrators