Jump to content


Photo

mount reccs for a TAK TSA102

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 titan7

titan7

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 93
  • Joined: 20 Jun 2009
  • Loc: So. California

Posted 18 July 2009 - 08:01 PM

Visual only, drives not required, I use the slow motion controls more than the drives.
Vixen GP2
Vixen GP D2
Meade LXD75
Losmandy GM-8

Also looking for recs on an Az-Alt mount for this scope. Like I said, I want this for a quick look scope, and I really like the slow motion manualcontrols for those times I don't want to drag out the power, that's most of the time. The GP2 looks the best at $699.00. I could add the Goto later if needed. Is this mount good for the TAK?

thanks!

#2 zawijava

zawijava

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 920
  • Joined: 06 Oct 2007
  • Loc: Wells, Maine 04090

Posted 18 July 2009 - 09:03 PM


Also looking for recs on an Az-Alt mount for this scope. Like I said, I want this for a quick look scope, and I really like the slow motion manualcontrols for those times I don't want to drag out the power, that's most of the time. The GP2 looks the best at $699.00. I could add the Goto later if needed. Is this mount good for the TAK?

thanks!


How about a Giro III? I mount my Tak FS-128 on one, it's exceptionally good. There is one on AstroMart right now.

Tim

#3 star17

star17

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 55
  • Joined: 02 Jun 2009

Posted 18 July 2009 - 09:48 PM

Also looking for recs on an Az-Alt mount for this scope.


I had my TSA mounted on a Lapides modified Teegul and loved it. The slow motion controls worked great even at very high magnifications. I eventually added a set of encoders to make hunting down double-stars easier. I had a real blast with this setup.

#4 Jim7728

Jim7728

    Cosmos

  • *****
  • Posts: 7870
  • Joined: 10 Apr 2005
  • Loc: Stoop Landing Observatory, NYC

Posted 18 July 2009 - 11:44 PM

If you don't mind buying used... Vixen GP DX

Beefier than the GP2... not that it can't handle the TSA 102. ;)

#5 plyscope

plyscope

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1481
  • Joined: 23 Nov 2006
  • Loc: Perth, West Australia

Posted 19 July 2009 - 02:14 PM

I use a Vixen GP D2 and recommend it highly. I like the slow motions and rarely use the drives. I have made a wooden tripod for it.

#6 chboss

chboss

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 717
  • Joined: 24 Mar 2008
  • Loc: Zurich Switzerland

Posted 20 July 2009 - 03:38 AM

I use my Tak FS-102 on a AYO Alt-Az Mount.
If you can find an old (Silver color) EzTouch from William it will be the Swiss made version which is the same as mine.

regards
Chris

Attached Files



#7 Jim7728

Jim7728

    Cosmos

  • *****
  • Posts: 7870
  • Joined: 10 Apr 2005
  • Loc: Stoop Landing Observatory, NYC

Posted 20 July 2009 - 07:31 AM

GIRO III works very well for my FS-102. ;)

Attached Files



#8 crazyqban

crazyqban

    Vanguard

  • *****
  • Posts: 2112
  • Joined: 16 Dec 2008
  • Loc: Miami, Florida

Posted 21 July 2009 - 03:50 AM

I've used a TSA-102 on a Tak-Lapides Alt-Az and I thought that it was a wonderful setup. As long as you have a sturdy tripod that mount handles the TSA-102 really well. Gotta love the slo-mo controls...

Sergio

#9 titan7

titan7

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 93
  • Joined: 20 Jun 2009
  • Loc: So. California

Posted 31 July 2009 - 08:10 PM

Well I finally got the mount, Jim, thanks for the link.

I think I got a pretty good deal for $865.00 delivered!!
to replace this today would cost me about $2300.00. They told me this was basically a 10 yr old mount their customer never used. I don't think a scope was ever mounted on this thing, there is not a mark on it. the motors controller and battery pack were sealed in the factory bot I also prefer the green GPs over the current white version. SCORE!!!!

Got the EQ head, with the upgraded Vixen Ash tripod, the pier, Vixen dual axis drives, controller with clutches.

Wow, I had a CG-5 a few years ago and thought what's really the difference, there is a huge different in quality.
Posted Image


Now I just need to mount a scope.

#10 Jim7728

Jim7728

    Cosmos

  • *****
  • Posts: 7870
  • Joined: 10 Apr 2005
  • Loc: Stoop Landing Observatory, NYC

Posted 31 July 2009 - 08:36 PM

Congats!

I was looking at that mount deal for awhile and might have grabbed it had you not bought it. ;)






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics