Solar Tracking on a Celestron CG-5 Mount

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 hanchennz

hanchennz

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 20 July 2009 - 10:55 AM

I'm a college student working on a summer project at Tufts University. I'm building a solar concentrator which can be used to field test photovoltaic (solar) cell designs.

The solar concentrator needs to track the sun over the course of a day for maximum concentration. For this purpose, I purchased a Celestron CG-5 Computerized Mount to put the concentrator on.

I purchased the NexRemote software package because I need to control the mount remotely. I will not be able to access the concentrator at all times (the concentrator is sitting on the roof of the building).

I was hoping that I could align the telescope and then use the automatic slewing option to find the sun each morning. While the mount offers solar tracking, the sun is not in its database of celestial objects. I cannot aim the sun manually each morning, and I don't a telescope/eyepiece to do this.

Is there any way I can add the sun into the Telescope's or the NexRemote Control software's database? I know this isn't astronomy related, but any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

#2 waassaabee

waassaabee

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: Central California Coast

Posted 20 July 2009 - 11:52 AM

Under Utilities on the Hand Control, there should be a Sun Menu that will activate the sun as an object.

#3 Luigi

Luigi

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: MA

Posted 20 July 2009 - 12:09 PM

Like Gary says. They hide it and make you specifically enable it so that you don't accidentally go-to the sun and burn your retina out.

#4 hanchennz

hanchennz

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 20 July 2009 - 01:54 PM

Thanks guys. I thought that the Sun menu only added the solar alignment option instead of adding it to both.

Another question, what is the difference between "Identify" and "Precise GoTo"?