Photo

Should I Move the Alignment Peg on My CG5?

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 palerider

palerider

Vostok 1

• -----
  • Loc: Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Posted 20 July 2009 - 05:38 PM

My CG5 was shipped with the Alignment Peg mounted between two of the tripod legs. There is another hole that sits directly over the third leg. Is it a good idea to move the peg over a tripod leg versus between two legs? I've been using it for about 6 months now and never had a problem. I stumbled across another thread where some people recommended moving the peg to avoid the possibility of the mount tipping over. How likely is that and is it really an issue?

Right now I'm only doing visual with a SV102ED, WO diagonal, Hyperion eyepieces, and a 9x50 finder. However, I do want to get into AP soon so I will be adding things like a guidescope, DSLR camera, etc. I'd rather be safe than sorry so moving the peg is not a problem. Thanks.

#2 Richard Turner

Richard Turner

Mariner 2

• -----
  • Loc: NC

Posted 20 July 2009 - 06:13 PM

My new CGEM was shipped with the alignment peg between two legs also. I don't know how likely it would be to tip over, but I've always liked to have the counterweight over a tripod leg. I would move it if there is any doubt.

Richard

#3 Blixx

Blixx

Viking 1

• Loc: CO. Aurora, USA

Posted 20 July 2009 - 06:52 PM

I don't know how likely it is to tip over but I moved it the day I got the mount. I have both a cg5 and a cgem and I also do AP. I feel safer with the peg over the leg. I think that it is more stable with it over the leg than between them. I hope is helps.
Dan

#4 palerider

palerider

Vostok 1

• -----
  • Loc: Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Posted 20 July 2009 - 07:30 PM

Richard, Dan,

Thanks for the input. I appreciate it. You've confirmed my feelings about being more stable mounted over a tripod leg than between two. Off to the garage to find the right wrench.

#5 mclewis1

mclewis1

Thread Killer

• Loc: New Brunswick, Canada