• Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#1 flymanwms

flymanwms

Sputnik

• -----
  • Loc: Mississippi

Posted 22 July 2009 - 04:50 PM

I'm just getting started playing around with autoguiding features using my Celestron CPC1100!

I've tried 3 different guiding softwares including Guidedog and none of them want to connect to my CPC1100 autoguide port. (They do connect to the Meade DSI imager I want to use as the guiding camera ok)

I've loaded the ascom platform and the celestron ascom protocol on my laptop. When I try to connect it allows me to select "Celestron telescopes" and allows me to select 11" CPC. It also allows me to select com5, which is what my Radio Shack USB-to-serial cable is set at and working.
From this cable I'm using a serial-to-phonejack adapter and what I hope is an RJ12 cable [6 pins](both which were included with a Meade DSI imager) which is plugged into the CPC's autoguider port [ST-4 ?].

This setup doesn't seem to work and gives me a "ASCOM communication error", which is the same error I get when it's unplugged altogether ..... any advice?

Thanks in advance,
Scott

#2 mclewis1

mclewis1

Thread Killer

• ****-
  • Loc: New Brunswick, Canada

Posted 22 July 2009 - 05:53 PM

Scott, You need to do one of two things ...

1) Get the Celestron Serial HC cable and plug this into the base of the HC. You can then send positioning and guiding commands from various s/w apps through the HC (yes autoguiding works in this setup).

2) If you really want to use the autoguide port get a Shoestring GPUSB adapter and the correct ST4 cable (included with the GPUSB ... your Meade cable will not work) and plug it into the autoguide port on the mount.