• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 cpl43uk

cpl43uk

Messenger

• -----
  • Loc: Bristol, UK

Posted 23 July 2009 - 06:11 PM

Hi everyone - have been a lurker for a while while I honed up my attempts at sketching through my Nexstar 8SE with this site as my inspiration (and indeed it was about time Astronomy Now added a "sketching" feature to its monthly magazine - a great section). I am new to the world of Photoshop CS4 however and have been using this tool to transform my sketches. In this regard I wonder if there are any astro-sketching digital tutorials that go beyond "invert" and "levels"? I usually "redraw" my star fields digitally using a brush tool for different star magnitudes (using duplicate copy of the original scanned drawing) and "rotate" the sketch circle to align for North/West axis etc but have never really cracked how to recast my galaxy or nebular "smudgies" with the sponge tool etc nor how to "digitally" capture my planet sketches. Even my "stars" could do with a bit of improvement (I use a standard brush palette but wonder if there are any better ways to digitally "sketch" a star with diffraction etc). Any tips would be a great help.

Chris

Attached Files

#2 Jeremy Perez

Jeremy Perez

Vanguard

• Loc: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

Posted 23 July 2009 - 06:58 PM

Hi Chris,

There is definitely a lot of inspiring work here--and based on the sample you posted, it looks like we'll be enjoying some very nice material from you too!

Re-creating an entire star field digitally hasn't always been easy for me to pull off. If enough differing magnitudes aren't used, it can look artificial. I created a fully-digital version of the Double Cluster in Perseus for comparison with a regular pencil sketch here:
Sketching the Double Cluster in Perseus - Pg 3