Photo

Sphinx SXD with v2.1 software?

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
9 replies to this topic

#1 SilentLight

SilentLight

Vostok 1

Posted 24 July 2009 - 01:49 PM

I have read here on CN that SXD had a lot of guiding error. The Starbook update information points to these problems as having been addressed in 2.1, but has it?

Here's my dilemma: I am a newbie and picked up a used LXD75/SN8, upgraded the focuser to feathertouch, then spent more time struggling to keep the scope on the mount than looking thru the scope!! So I like to get a more stable mount. And I have to carry everything from apartment to car to dark site, and then reverse the process as soon as I get home. The light weight of SXD appeals to me (after getting over the sticker shock!) as opposed to the heavier CGEM.

I like to do 90% visual, 10% AP at the moment and slowly increase to 10% visual and 90% AP as I gain experience. So guiding (either auto or via my Meade LPI attached to a smaller scope and laptop) is important. And if I outgrow the scope, I like to be able to change OTA (perhaps a Russian MCT or Newt or a C9.25), but keep the mount.

So should I get the SXD or should I save the $$ and frustration, and instead, fight the weight of a CGEM?

Apologies for bringing up yet another CGEM vs. Sphinx subject!

#2 amys

amys

Mercury-Atlas

Posted 24 July 2009 - 04:44 PM

Have you checked out the Sphinx Yahoo users' group here: http://tech.groups.y...Sphinx/messages ? I have an SXW, not an SXD, and I do only visual so I can't answer your questions but you should be able to glean a lot of info from the posts there?

#3 donsinger1

donsinger1

Ranger 4

• -----

Posted 26 July 2009 - 11:50 AM