Photo

The next logical step for this mount?

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
6 replies to this topic

#1 Jeff in Austin

Jeff in Austin

Surveyor 1

Posted 25 July 2009 - 10:44 PM

I've been using a CG-5 ASGT for 2 years now with ok results in astrophotograpy. Sometimes I can get 2-3 minute unguided subexposures without any problems, but now I'm starting to guide and I'm running into problems with the extra weight of a guide scope and camera. The total payload is 22 lbs. My understanding is I should be around 1/2 the rated load for AP, and that means I may be overweight by 7 lbs. if the mount is rated for 30 lbs. I'm also finding it hard to balance because the RA and DEC axes have extra "stick-shun" with all the weight on it.

So my question is, am I at the limit for AP with this mount? And if so, what's the next logical step up in mounts for AP? Or - should I just be looking for ways to lighten the load?

#2 Nebhunter

Nebhunter

Surveyor 1

• -----

Posted 26 July 2009 - 02:20 PM

I'm not an expert with this particular mount, but your symptoms are similar to what I experienced with the EQ6 once I began loading it up for AP.

I'm quite sure you have reached the point where the mount is over stressed for accurate AP. Seven pounds is a LOT of weight to try to loose. Where do you start. You can't skimp on the mounting brackets, as mass and solid connections ensure no flexure issues. You would either need to go back to unguided - or move up in mount size.