Vixen PORTA II Mount Slo Mo Knobs Falling Off

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 DugDog

DugDog

Surveyor 1

• Loc: Temecula, Ca. USA

Posted 30 July 2009 - 12:22 AM

Welp, I guess I should have read more before buying the Vixen PORTA II Mount. It seems they have a chronic problem of the slo mo knobs falling off, and today I received my new mount...and in a matter of minutes my knobs had fallen off to the ground.

It's really sad because the rest of the mount seems to be very good "as is".

I have read that some people drill, and tap a set screw into the shafts. Since I have no experience in tapping, I am a little afraid to start.

I sent an email to Vixen support to see if there was any solutions or recommended modifications.

If the set screws were not so small, it might work.

Any suggestions or step by step modifications?

Should I return it?

Thanks,

DD

#2 mathteacher

mathteacher

Mercury-Atlas

• Loc: Oakland, CA

Posted 30 July 2009 - 01:45 AM

If you like the mount except for that, don't return it.

You can wrap some tape on the shaft to add friction. Or, buy some flexible cable knobs that have a built in set screw. They show up used all the time.

http://www.agenaastr.../pama-an-cs.htm

#3 Edwin

Edwin

Explorer 1

• -----
  • Loc: The Netherlands

Posted 30 July 2009 - 02:31 AM

Orion UK sells a full aluminum replacement set which connects to the mount by either a small allen head screw or by small thumb screw. The set cost GBP 35 (excl. shipment).

See link: Orion UK

#4 Waduino

Waduino

Ranger 4

• -----
  • Loc: Richmond Hill, Ontario

Posted 30 July 2009 - 07:19 AM

I replaced mine on my Porta I with the set screw type. Funny, I thought the II had this change incorporated. I wouldn't get rid of the mount for something that can be corrected so easily. I still have mine.
Wad.

#5 SATMAN

SATMAN

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: NJ 39.7 lat., -74.3 long

Posted 30 July 2009 - 11:38 AM