Jump to content


Photo

Vixen Sphinx has weird behavior

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
10 replies to this topic

#1 Kieken

Kieken

    Ranger 4

  • -----
  • Posts: 326
  • Joined: 03 Oct 2004

Posted 04 August 2009 - 09:59 AM

Last night I was out with the Vixen Sphinx but it showed me some weird things.

1.) When I started the mount the Starbook would initialize but couldn't move the mount. It looked like it was unable to connect to the mount itself.

2.) When it worked and I wanted to go to M56, the mount would start moving but it just kept on moving.

Does anyone here ever had this kind of behavior? I recently bought a Orion SSAG and used it once and it seems that since then the mount has this kind of problems.

#2 sctchun

sctchun

    Ranger 4

  • -----
  • Posts: 329
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2006

Posted 04 August 2009 - 01:58 PM

Hi Kieken,

I have the SSAG for a while now, and I haven't had any of the problems you are mentioning. What version of Starbook are you running?

#3 Kieken

Kieken

    Ranger 4

  • -----
  • Posts: 326
  • Joined: 03 Oct 2004

Posted 04 August 2009 - 02:07 PM

To be honest, I've never updated the firmware on my Starbook (I've got it for 2 years now).

#4 jrcrilly

jrcrilly

    Refractor wienie no more

  • *****
  • Administrators
  • Posts: 33960
  • Joined: 30 Apr 2003

Posted 04 August 2009 - 02:12 PM

To be honest, I've never updated the firmware on my Starbook (I've got it for 2 years now).


Does it behave oddly only when the guide cable is connected? Many mounts will act like that if an autoguide input is either stuck "on" or connected to an unterminated cable (camera not there or turned off).

#5 Kieken

Kieken

    Ranger 4

  • -----
  • Posts: 326
  • Joined: 03 Oct 2004

Posted 04 August 2009 - 02:15 PM

The autoguider wasn't connected when these problems occured but it was connected to the mount during the previous session.

#6 adamsp123

adamsp123

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 807
  • Joined: 20 Nov 2008

Posted 04 August 2009 - 02:27 PM

Ah, I had a very similar thing happen to mine, and it was a intermittent cable break located where the cable is looped through a ferrite. Buzz the cable out you will probably find one of the very thin cables has snapped.
All starbook owners should remove the ferrite, it does nothing to the use of the device only to overstress the cable as it is far too tight a turn on a cable like this.

#7 Kieken

Kieken

    Ranger 4

  • -----
  • Posts: 326
  • Joined: 03 Oct 2004

Posted 04 August 2009 - 02:41 PM

Ah, I had a very similar thing happen to mine, and it was a intermittent cable break located where the cable is looped through a ferrite. Buzz the cable out you will probably find one of the very thin cables has snapped.
All starbook owners should remove the ferrite, it does nothing to the use of the device only to overstress the cable as it is far too tight a turn on a cable like this.


Someone in the Vixen Sphinx yaho workgroup also mentioned it might be a broken cable.

EDIT: to be sure I've ordered a replacement for the Starbook-mount cable.

#8 adamsp123

adamsp123

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 807
  • Joined: 20 Nov 2008

Posted 04 August 2009 - 04:00 PM

I cut the cable and soldered a new connector on, threw away the ferrite and because it is near one end of the cable I didn't lose to much on the length.

I hope it fixes the problem

#9 Kieken

Kieken

    Ranger 4

  • -----
  • Posts: 326
  • Joined: 03 Oct 2004

Posted 12 August 2009 - 06:00 AM

Got the new cable for connecting the starbook to the mount and now it works perfect. I've only tested it once but it was a direct hit. I will test it a few more times today (switching it on and see if it works).

I've also updated the Starbook to version 2.1 so basically everything should work the next time I'm out.

Greets
Robin

#10 adamsp123

adamsp123

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 807
  • Joined: 20 Nov 2008

Posted 12 August 2009 - 08:02 AM

good news! I am glad that fixed it, it is stupid design flaw

#11 scope dog

scope dog

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1501
  • Joined: 26 Jul 2004

Posted 13 August 2009 - 08:22 PM

FYI the RS232 cable female male may be cheaper to buy than repair. I have one 25ft for remote operation.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics