• Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 PorkyCorky

PorkyCorky

Lift Off

• -----
  • Loc: Kentucky

Posted 08 August 2009 - 11:51 AM

I am looking at purchasing a new, modestly priced telescope and this line of telescopes has caught my eye. I'm still a beginner in the hobby (I'd like to think an advanced beginner) and these scopes seem like a fit for me.

Now, my question is, how would the 5 SE compare to the 6 SE? Would the 6 SE be worth the extra $100? How would they compare observing?

#2 gary-sue69

gary-sue69

Messenger

• Loc: Maybee MI.

Posted 08 August 2009 - 12:01 PM

the bigger the better and i do believe that the 6se mount is sturdier. The same one as the 8se i thank. If you have the money i would go with the 8se. :jump:

#3 Seiko4169

Seiko4169

Mariner 2

• -----

Posted 08 August 2009 - 12:54 PM

I doubt you'll see too much difference visually between a 5 or 6 however the mount is certainly very different.
I've just picked up a new in box 5i having sold my 8i and CPC800 a few years back. The 5i,8i, 6SE and 8SE all share the same mount, albeit the 5i/8i version is a fraction quicker and quieter. where as the 5SE now shares it's mount with the 4SE Mak. I've not used the new 5SE mount but believe it has a built in wedge but slews slower and is a little less stable.

Ultimately though, I chose a 5i because it represented the maximum size/weight that I felt was genuinely portable/grab and go. When aperture fever strikes I'll look at a Rays bracket and 8" OTA noting it'll then be borderline portable.