Photo

Sketching in 3D?

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
42 replies to this topic

#1 Jef De Wit

Jef De Wit

Mercury-Atlas

Posted 20 August 2009 - 02:41 PM

Talking about my hobby, a friend asked if it was possible to make a astrosketch in 3D? My first guess is a rotating planet. Or working with the red/blue-pair of glasses. Did anybody tried or succeeded?

#2 idp

idp

Messenger

• -----

Posted 22 August 2009 - 04:03 PM

I am not sure if I understand what you exacly mean, but in the case of planetary objects you can definitely have a 3D appearance in some cases so I guess it makes sense to wonder what's the best way to give this feeling in a sketch. I think of the Moon in particular, and Saturn under certain conditions. I remember seeing it "popping out" of the eyepiece when both the shadow of the globe on the ring and of the ring on the globe were visible with good seeing.
I fear I am not a good artist enough to answer your question though, hope someone else here around is.

IDP

#3 GlennLeDrew

GlennLeDrew

Voyager 1

Posted 22 August 2009 - 04:34 PM

Jef,
I assume that you mean a *pair* of sketches which are representations as seen from two slightly different perspectives so as to yield a *true* 3-D appearance with suitable viewing apparatus.

If that's the case, then I can say that many, many years ago I experimented with simple perspective drawings that did result in very real depth perception when viewed either through lenses or via the crossed eye technique.

A more sophisticated astro sketch is indeed possible, but will take a bit of careful attention and time to execute.

#4 kraterkid

kraterkid

Fly Me to the Moon

Posted 22 August 2009 - 07:10 PM

Jef, IDP and Glenn,