Jump to content


Photo

More then 99 user defined objects?

  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Hubert

Hubert

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 248
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2006
  • Loc: Belgium

Posted 03 September 2009 - 05:00 PM

Hi,

I recently bought a Celestron Advanced Goto mount (CG-5).
I can store in the handcontroller 99 user defined objects. Is there a way to store more then 99 objects in it?
I'm a variable observer with about 200 stars to observe and it would be nice if I could put al the coordinates in it.

clear skies, Hubert

#2 jrbarnett

jrbarnett

    Eyepiece Hooligan

  • *****
  • Posts: 19806
  • Joined: 28 Feb 2006
  • Loc: Petaluma, CA

Posted 03 September 2009 - 05:53 PM

Hubert:

I don't think so. What I've had to do with my Orion Atlas EQ-G, which has only 25 User Defined Objects, is to create paper-based lists of 25 regional targets, and then manually input the desired list prior to the observing session. It's a nightmare, but because the Atlas has no "slew-to RA and Dec" command, it is a necessary evil.

On the other hand, the Nexstar does have a slew-to RA and Dec command. So long as you have a list of target variables with RA and Dec data, you could bypass the User Defined Object feature altogether.

Regards,

Jim

#3 Hubert

Hubert

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 248
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2006
  • Loc: Belgium

Posted 03 September 2009 - 11:27 PM

Jim,

I have indeed a list with coordinates of al my variables but it's time consuming typing them in while observing. It's faster when I can use the used defined object feature. But 99 is not enough.

clear skies, Hubert

#4 Chris Rowland

Chris Rowland

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 586
  • Joined: 28 Feb 2005

Posted 04 September 2009 - 03:41 AM

You have a number of options:
Use NexRemote; you can select a tour of your choice and you should be able to define your own.
Use NexTour; it will do the same thing.
Use NSOL
Use any of a number of scope control programs that can have any number of objects. There may be something that runs on a PDA to do this.

Hope this helps, I've not gone into this in detail but it gives a few ideas.

Chris

#5 Hubert

Hubert

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 248
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2006
  • Loc: Belgium

Posted 04 September 2009 - 11:44 AM

Hi Chris,

thanks for the advice. I think that will be the best thing to do.

regards, Hubert

#6 JAT Observatory

JAT Observatory

    NOT a Wimp

  • *****
  • Posts: 9428
  • Joined: 20 Feb 2005
  • Loc: In the Primordial Soup

Posted 04 September 2009 - 11:50 AM

I would suggest either buying a netbook or an ultra portable PC. Then you can either use software to control the scope or reload the handbox in the field if you need to change lists.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics