Jump to content


Photo

AS-GT I killed it

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
3 replies to this topic

#1 RWC

RWC

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: 15 Apr 2008

Posted 12 September 2009 - 07:37 PM

If anyone can help me I would really appreciate it. I was in the middle of a motor control firmware upgrade on my Celestron AS-GT mount when my computer crashed. Now my computer can no longer contact the mount. When I turn on the mount the hand set says initializing for about a second, is blank for about 15 seconds and the says not responding 16.

Has anyone experienced this before and have any idea as to how I get out of this mess.

#2 LLEEGE

LLEEGE

    True Blue

  • *****
  • Posts: 12897
  • Joined: 03 Mar 2005

Posted 12 September 2009 - 08:01 PM

Try a hard reset of the HB. I think you hold down the "0" key for several seconds while powering on the mount.

#3 LLEEGE

LLEEGE

    True Blue

  • *****
  • Posts: 12897
  • Joined: 03 Mar 2005

Posted 12 September 2009 - 08:07 PM

Or this:

If the update is interrupted in the middle, (for example, the PC locks up or the mount is accidentally powered off) you should power off and power on the mount. If you are updating via a PC Port on the mount or Auxiliary Port Adapter, simply repeat the update process. If you are updating via the port on the bottom of the hand control, when you switch the power back on the hand control may display a No Response error. If so, simply press the UNDO button on the hand control several times until the No Response message is cleared. The hand control should then display the locked message and you will be able to continue with the update as described above. If you were updating via the hand control and now the hand control displays Initializing and then goes blank, read this.

Quoted from here

#4 RWC

RWC

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: 15 Apr 2008

Posted 13 September 2009 - 12:38 AM

Thank you for the advice. But I seem to have stumbled onto a fix. I cycled my computer and the mount several time but MCupdate would not recognize the mount. I could only get limited function out of the hand set. I them closed MCupdate and opened HCupdate which I had previously run. And for some reason or another it could connect to the mount. I closed it and reopened MCupdate and sure enough it would now connect and I was able to finish the update and everything seems to be working.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics