Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Maxim DL and MallinCam

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Photovore

Photovore

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 193
  • Joined: 19 Nov 2004
  • Loc: Fort Myers, FL

Posted 29 November 2009 - 08:05 PM

Is it possible to get Maxim DL and Focusmax to work with a Mallincam to control
autofocus and image acquisition?

I would like to add a MicroTouch Autofocuser to my set-up and automate as much
as possible.

Thanks!
Mike

#2 CarolG

CarolG

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1581
  • Joined: 16 Oct 2006
  • Loc: Oklahoma

Posted 29 November 2009 - 08:32 PM

Hi Mike. I have Maxim DL5 and Starizona's Microtouch. I use Dazzle to capture images through Maxim. I can view the live image through Maxim and focus that way. (I also have the camera simultaneously hooked up to my Speco monitor, because I think the image is better on a CRT monitor than my laptop LCD screen) I can use Maxim to record in AVI mode or capture single or continuous shots just like you would with a regular CCD camera. It has been a very nice and versatile setup.

#3 Lorence

Lorence

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1120
  • Joined: 15 Sep 2008

Posted 29 November 2009 - 11:42 PM

I have a Mintron video camera, same output as Malincam. It works with MaximDL and FocusMax. I use it with a JMI Motofocus/PC Focus Control and a Meade LX200 Micro Focuser.

It can also work MaximDL to guide my LX200.

LdB

#4 Photovore

Photovore

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 193
  • Joined: 19 Nov 2004
  • Loc: Fort Myers, FL

Posted 30 November 2009 - 08:26 AM

Thanks, Carol and Lorence. That's exactly what I was hoping for...

Cheers!

#5 mega256

mega256

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1174
  • Joined: 10 May 2007
  • Loc: N of Tampa

Posted 15 November 2012 - 12:39 PM

Does anyone do AUTOFOCUS with a Mallin cam ??

#6 Raginar

Raginar

    Cosmos

  • *****
  • Posts: 8015
  • Joined: 19 Oct 2010
  • Loc: Rapid CIty, SD

Posted 15 November 2012 - 05:00 PM

I've never heard of it Mega.

#7 CarolG

CarolG

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1581
  • Joined: 16 Oct 2006
  • Loc: Oklahoma

Posted 15 November 2012 - 08:07 PM

I tried to do autofocus with focusmax once, but it would not recognize the mallincam. Now I just use a Bahtinov mask. It works quite well.


CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics