Jump to content


Photo

QC Focus Imaging Software

  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 phily

phily

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 259
  • Joined: 18 Dec 2004
  • Loc: Kent, UK

Posted 20 December 2009 - 09:57 AM

I have just changed laptops and I now use Windows 7. On my previous machine with XP the freeware Program QC Focus loaded and ran without trouble, but it will not do so on W7.
There is an instruction on the website to download a small program called Porttalk, but having done so I cannot understand the instructions as to what to do with it and I'm not skilled enough to go poking about in the Registry.
I think I understand what it does, but I cannot make Porttalk work and QC Focus keeps failing.
I liked QC Focus and could understand how to use it, so I'm disappointed that it won't work.

Has anyone a clear set of instructions that a non-specialist user can understand so that I can download and use QC Focus?

#2 Andy Taylor

Andy Taylor

    Twisted, but in a Good Way

  • *****
  • Posts: 1851
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2008
  • Loc: Epsom - UK

Posted 20 December 2009 - 10:41 AM

Hi,

I had the porttalk hitch with XP...

I think QCfocus looks for the file in windows/system32/drivers. If it does not find it then it will not run.

I don't run win7 but it may be the same problem.

If you can't find the file via google then PM me with your email addess and I'll send the file.

#3 phily

phily

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 259
  • Joined: 18 Dec 2004
  • Loc: Kent, UK

Posted 20 December 2009 - 11:47 AM

I put Porttalk into that windows folder, but it still will not open. I do not know if I have to configure it in some way. As I said I am reluctant to blunder about in Registry without some idea of what I am doing!
Phil

#4 Andy Taylor

Andy Taylor

    Twisted, but in a Good Way

  • *****
  • Posts: 1851
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2008
  • Loc: Epsom - UK

Posted 20 December 2009 - 12:10 PM

also needs NET framework installed...?

#5 Zhengyi

Zhengyi

    Explorer 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 73
  • Joined: 28 Dec 2004
  • Loc: Ontario, Canada

Posted 20 December 2009 - 12:20 PM

I had the same problem with you Phil and I'm also using Windows 7. What I did is download the "porttalk22.zip" file from http://www.beyondlog...lk/porttalk.htm(at the very bottom). Open the Zip file. Extract the file "porttalk.sys" and move or copy it to C:\Windows\System32\drives\ directory. That's it. No modification to the registry is required. I hope it will work out for you as well. Good luck :)

#6 phily

phily

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 259
  • Joined: 18 Dec 2004
  • Loc: Kent, UK

Posted 21 December 2009 - 06:52 AM

Thanks Zhengyi, I have done that and it still refuses to open for me. It says I need administrator rights (which I have) and is says that Porttalk is not present in the directory or is not started (it is certainly there).
At this point I go round and round in circles.
I suspect it is some very clever security thing but it is beyond me.

Thanks very much for your help, but to no avail. It must be the setup of my machine.

Phil

#7 Andy Taylor

Andy Taylor

    Twisted, but in a Good Way

  • *****
  • Posts: 1851
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2008
  • Loc: Epsom - UK

Posted 21 December 2009 - 08:28 AM

Try running it in XP compatability mode...

Also it needs Microsoft .NET framework installed. The installation promts you for this in XP - can't remember if it does with Vista...

#8 LeedsGreen

LeedsGreen

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 223
  • Joined: 11 Sep 2008
  • Loc: Leeds, UK

Posted 21 December 2009 - 08:55 AM

Phil,

I had a similar problem to you and realised that I hadn't put "porttalk.sys" into the correct directory (i.e. I put it into to C:\Windows\System32 directory and not C:\Windows\System32\drives\ directory). Sorry if you have done this already but thought just worth offering my experience (because it drove me mad for hours)!

Nick

#9 phily

phily

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 259
  • Joined: 18 Dec 2004
  • Loc: Kent, UK

Posted 21 December 2009 - 09:13 AM

Thanks to everyone for your advice, but it is still to no avail. Eventually it has decided that the whole thing is incompatible, despite microsoft.NET being installed.
I think I'll cut my losses and go for another video capture program, even if I have to pay for it.
There are only so many hours in a day!!
Once again thanks to all.

#10 Andy Taylor

Andy Taylor

    Twisted, but in a Good Way

  • *****
  • Posts: 1851
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2008
  • Loc: Epsom - UK

Posted 21 December 2009 - 12:54 PM

Why QCfocus...?

The only reason I use it is for capturing RAW mode with my SPC900NC.

Other programs are available...

#11 phily

phily

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 259
  • Joined: 18 Dec 2004
  • Loc: Kent, UK

Posted 21 December 2009 - 02:08 PM

Andy,
I put it my old laptop and got used to it. Incidentally I still have the old one before it goes to someone else and it downloaded and worked in XP today without trouble, no Porttalk or anything. Still I have no doubt that W7 is an improvement!?
I'll probably get K3CCD Tools, as I know from others that this works well.
Phil

#12 Charlie Hein

Charlie Hein

    Voyager 1

  • *****
  • Administrators
  • Posts: 12307
  • Joined: 02 Nov 2003
  • Loc: 26.06.08N, +80.23.08W

Posted 23 December 2009 - 04:32 PM

Might want to try wxAstroCapture. It's free and works well.

Charlie

#13 Andy Taylor

Andy Taylor

    Twisted, but in a Good Way

  • *****
  • Posts: 1851
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2008
  • Loc: Epsom - UK

Posted 23 December 2009 - 04:58 PM

Might want to try wxAstroCapture. It's free and works well.

Charlie


I agree but it does not capture RAW....

#14 phily

phily

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 259
  • Joined: 18 Dec 2004
  • Loc: Kent, UK

Posted 24 December 2009 - 09:17 AM

Thanks guys, I'll try that and see what happens.

#15 phily

phily

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 259
  • Joined: 18 Dec 2004
  • Loc: Kent, UK

Posted 24 December 2009 - 02:32 PM

Loaded and worked fine. Thanks again.

#16 Andy Taylor

Andy Taylor

    Twisted, but in a Good Way

  • *****
  • Posts: 1851
  • Joined: 24 Sep 2008
  • Loc: Epsom - UK

Posted 24 December 2009 - 05:12 PM

Hurrah!

It's a fine program...

You can still use WrCtrl to control the exposure - much better then the installed driver interface.

Now it's working you can count on at least 10 cloudy nights... :smirk:






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics