Jump to content


Photo

EQ-6 Pro/Atlas

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
86 replies to this topic

#1 cygnus72

cygnus72

    Messenger

  • -----
  • Posts: 447
  • Joined: 13 Jun 2007

Posted 02 January 2010 - 10:57 AM

Hey folks,

I know that this discussion is probably a dead horse that gets beaten on a daily basis, but I have to know.

I know the Skywatcher's HEQ-5 mount is the same as Orion's Sirius mount, and Skywatcher's EQ-6 mount is the same as Orion's Atlas. I got that part.

If I had my choice, I'd go with the Skywatcher EQ-6 Pro just because it would be easier to see at night, and I think it's just a wee bit nicer looking. But is there any real difference, other than cosmetics, between these mounts?

#2 Skylook123

Skylook123

    Cosmos

  • *****
  • Posts: 7503
  • Joined: 30 Apr 2005

Posted 02 January 2010 - 10:59 AM

No difference, just badging.

#3 guyroch

guyroch

    Vendor (BackyardEOS)

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 2971
  • Joined: 22 Jan 2008

Posted 02 January 2010 - 11:21 AM

nada, ziltch, zero, none

#4 Doug76

Doug76

    Long Achro Junkie

  • *****
  • Posts: 10839
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2007

Posted 02 January 2010 - 11:56 AM

It does look nicer though.

#5 Skylook123

Skylook123

    Cosmos

  • *****
  • Posts: 7503
  • Joined: 30 Apr 2005

Posted 02 January 2010 - 06:01 PM

I'm probably on the fringe, here, but I've set up near the EQ6 Pro white mounts and it actually was a distraction on a dark night. It takes me about 2 seconds to learn where my Atlas is set up, and I like the way the look is not in my face.

#6 John Fitzgerald

John Fitzgerald

    In Focus

  • *****
  • Posts: 2905
  • Joined: 04 Jan 2004

Posted 02 January 2010 - 09:51 PM

I like the black one better too. It does not cause a glare off my red light when it shines on the mount.

#7 Kenny2004

Kenny2004

    Vendor - Icodome

  • -----
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 1688
  • Joined: 17 Aug 2004

Posted 03 January 2010 - 11:18 PM

I thought the Orion's mount series had the capability to adjust the illumination on the polar scope no?

#8 Nightknight

Nightknight

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 112
  • Joined: 12 Oct 2007

Posted 03 January 2010 - 11:49 PM

I thought the Orion's mount series had the capability to adjust the illumination on the polar scope no?


Not on my couple year-old one. Least not so far as I know-

#9 Coromandel

Coromandel

    Ranger 4

  • -----
  • Posts: 393
  • Joined: 27 Feb 2009

Posted 04 January 2010 - 12:34 AM

I thought the Orion's mount series had the capability to adjust the illumination on the polar scope no?


According to a friend with EQ6 Pros, both that mount and the Atlas have the polar scope dimmer option available only if the internal control board is version 2 or later.

#10 John Fitzgerald

John Fitzgerald

    In Focus

  • *****
  • Posts: 2905
  • Joined: 04 Jan 2004

Posted 04 January 2010 - 07:44 AM

My Atlas-EQ is six-plus years old (purchased Oct 2003) and it has the polar scope dimmer, which works very well.

#11 BKBrown

BKBrown

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3300
  • Joined: 22 Aug 2009

Posted 04 January 2010 - 08:36 PM

I thought the Orion's mount series had the capability to adjust the illumination on the polar scope no?


According to a friend with EQ6 Pros, both that mount and the Atlas have the polar scope dimmer option available only if the internal control board is version 2 or later.


Just how does this work? I have a new model Atlas and have been exploring all of it's features (I haven't had it very long) but have not stumbled across the dimmer capability. Thanks, BrianB. :question:

#12 John Fitzgerald

John Fitzgerald

    In Focus

  • *****
  • Posts: 2905
  • Joined: 04 Jan 2004

Posted 04 January 2010 - 11:12 PM

To dim or brighten the polar scope, you twist the little matchstick sized stub sticking out the side of the mount near the hand controller connection receptacle.

#13 rmollise

rmollise

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15778
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Posted 05 January 2010 - 09:08 AM

To dim or brighten the polar scope, you twist the little matchstick sized stub sticking out the side of the mount near the hand controller connection receptacle.


Only with older mounts, I believe.

#14 BKBrown

BKBrown

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3300
  • Joined: 22 Aug 2009

Posted 05 January 2010 - 06:14 PM

Afraid Uncle Rod is right...no little gizzy on my new mount. Hmmmm, any other suggestions? BrianB :question:

#15 John Fitzgerald

John Fitzgerald

    In Focus

  • *****
  • Posts: 2905
  • Joined: 04 Jan 2004

Posted 05 January 2010 - 07:51 PM

Rod, I was unaware the dimmer was changed. Maybe sometimes older is better.
Since there is a dimmer on the older mounts, I would think there is a dimmer function somewhere on the newer ones too. When the polar scope is turned up to full field brightness, Polaris is not even visible in mine.

#16 rmollise

rmollise

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15778
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Posted 06 January 2010 - 08:10 AM

Rod, I was unaware the dimmer was changed. Maybe sometimes older is better.
Since there is a dimmer on the older mounts, I would think there is a dimmer function somewhere on the newer ones too. When the polar scope is turned up to full field brightness, Polaris is not even visible in mine.


There is--in the HC. AFAIK, the only mounts with the mechanical dimmer were the non-go-to versions...that's what yours is, right?

#17 John Fitzgerald

John Fitzgerald

    In Focus

  • *****
  • Posts: 2905
  • Joined: 04 Jan 2004

Posted 06 January 2010 - 02:34 PM

Right, I bought mine new in October 2003, directly from Orion.

#18 Kenny2004

Kenny2004

    Vendor - Icodome

  • -----
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 1688
  • Joined: 17 Aug 2004

Posted 06 January 2010 - 03:10 PM

So it appears then that the EQ6 is not the same as the Atlas as the EQ6 does not have the ability to dim the polar scope LED. Can anyone confirm this? On the web, I'm hearing mix feedback, so all the confusing.

#19 neptun2

neptun2

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 992
  • Joined: 04 Mar 2007

Posted 06 January 2010 - 03:51 PM

As far as i have read this is the only difference between eq6 and atlas - the presence of polar scope illumination regulation in atlas's firmware. Maybe if you can flash eq6's hand controller with atlas firmware this will fix the problem but i am not sure if it is possible or not. Also i see that on orion's site latest firmware is 3.23 and if the versions of firmware are the same between atlas and eq6 this means that some fixes of versions 3.24 and 3.25 of skywatcher's firmwares are missing in latest atlas firmware. At least for me the polar scope illuminator at my heq5 pro is just enough bright to dim all other stars and leave only polaris to be visible so i find it ok without regulation of brightness.

#20 rmollise

rmollise

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15778
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Posted 06 January 2010 - 05:53 PM

So it appears then that the EQ6 is not the same as the Atlas as the EQ6 does not have the ability to dim the polar scope LED. Can anyone confirm this? On the web, I'm hearing mix feedback, so all the confusing.


As has been mentioned previously, the ONLY DIFFERENCE between the two is the paintjob.

#21 rmollise

rmollise

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15778
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Posted 06 January 2010 - 05:56 PM

As far as i have read this is the only difference between eq6 and atlas - the presence of polar scope illumination regulation in atlas's firmware. Maybe if you can flash eq6's hand controller with atlas firmware this will fix the problem but i am not sure if it is possible or not. Also i see that on orion's site latest firmware is 3.23 and if the versions of firmware are the same between atlas and eq6 this means that some fixes of versions 3.24 and 3.25 of skywatcher's firmwares are missing in latest atlas firmware. At least for me the polar scope illuminator at my heq5 pro is just enough bright to dim all other stars and leave only polaris to be visible so i find it ok without regulation of brightness.


There is no incompatibility in the firmware. Either the firmware from Orion or from Skywatcher will work. Orion is slow to upgrade their firmware on the site. Solution? Download and install the newer version from Skywatcher. Works just fine, pardner.

#22 Kenny2004

Kenny2004

    Vendor - Icodome

  • -----
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 1688
  • Joined: 17 Aug 2004

Posted 06 January 2010 - 07:09 PM

I'm using 3.25 of the firmware on my HEQ5 - no such option to dim the light. The circuitry is probably not there. I bought the mount last year this time.

#23 SKYGZR

SKYGZR

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 882
  • Joined: 13 Aug 2009

Posted 08 January 2010 - 02:31 AM

I'll chime in here. The Atlas I found (second hand) has the "G" (GOTO) system installed. There is no pot to dim the PI, and haven't come across it in the 3.25 version of the SynScan. Upon receiving this unit, included (and for sale in the classifieds) was the original motors, controller board, and hand controller for the Non-G version. On that unit's board assembly, there is a pot to adjust the PI's brightness.

#24 RogerRZ

RogerRZ

    Whatta you lookin' at?

  • *****
  • Posts: 3140
  • Joined: 09 Jan 2006

Posted 08 January 2010 - 11:08 AM

I have a two year old EQ6 pro, and can state that it does not have provisions to dim the PI...

#25 Coromandel

Coromandel

    Ranger 4

  • -----
  • Posts: 393
  • Joined: 27 Feb 2009

Posted 08 January 2010 - 03:50 PM

Here's what I've been told is the case: Atlas/EQ6 mounts with the latest control circuit board inside them have the firmware's polar scope illumination adjustment option available.

If you have an older board (pre version 2 says my friend) then the option isn't available. It's firmware code that is not active unless you have a version 2 or later control board inside your mount.

There is absolutely no difference between the Atlas and EQ6 besides colours and stickers: But the installed control board may be an earlier or later version number, depending upon when it was made.

As told to me, you can find out what version you have from the hand controller or by using EQMOD software.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics