Mercury-Atlas

• Loc: Norman, Oklahoma

Posted 06 January 2010 - 11:34 AM

Under Dark Skies? Put on your "Night Glasses"

#2 do dawdle

do dawdle

Sputnik

Posted 20 July 2012 - 01:11 PM

I am a very rookie astronomer, with one SCT, a Barlow and two eyepieces, so my experience and capabilities for celestial observation are minimal. However, I've been an avid hunter for half a century, and optics have always been a make-or-break part of that sport for me. My experiences as a hunter lead me to strongly agree with several of your points about "Night Glasses."

I have binoculars made by Zeiss, Lieca, Leupold and Steiner. The only true low-light binocs in my stable are a 70's vintage set of big, bulky Steiner 7x50 armored Military-Marines. The Steiners weigh as much as any two of the others, but they are always the ones I have ready to use in my home, boat or vehicle. If I am planning to do some dawn or dusk viewing I always take the Steiners which often dictates my use of a mid-sized backpack or field bag. When I'm actually hunting and carrying a firearm, the Steiner's bulk and weight finally negate their portability and then I carry the very excellent late 70's vintage Leupold 9x25 armored hunting binocs, which give a lot of good seeing in a small, tough package. Of course both the Steiners and Leupolds are nitrogen sealed, this being a necessity for hunting glass. My friends love the Steiners and I could sell them for a tidy sum any time if I was that foolish. They simply can't be beat for exit pupil, eye relief, field of view and light-gathering power. Now that I've been bitten by the astronomy bug, I'm finding the Steiner 7x50s to be quite useful as a very wide field, easily-handled adjunct to my telescope.