• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Friendly Giant

Friendly Giant

Vostok 1

• -----

Posted 19 January 2010 - 08:29 PM

Hello:

I've been using a 10" dob as my only scope for a couple of years now so I've never needed to concern myself with buying a tripod/mount. I've now finally bought my first refractor (an 80mm f/9.5...24" long and 9lbs), so now I'm trying to pick the right tripod and alt/az mount combination for this scope.

I've heard alot said about the importance of a good mount to hold the scope steady and to make observing comfortable, so even though my scope is rather modest now, I'd rather pick up a decent tripod that will still serve me well should I later decide to move up to a larger (4"+ ) refractor.

A lot of the tripods we see being sold are aluminum tube tripods (Bogen, Manfrotto, etc...), but I also see (often wooden) surveyer tripods (eg: Oberwerk). I'm wondering if people could comment on the advantages / disadvantages of the two types. Would a wooden surveyers tripod be more stable? Why would someone buy one over the other?

#2 Bryguy

Bryguy

Vostok 1

• -----
  • Loc: Frederick, MD

Posted 19 January 2010 - 08:58 PM

I've always been told that wood dampens vibrations better than metal/ aluminum. I don't know about carbon fiber.

#3 Darron Spohn

Darron Spohn

Viking 1

• Loc: Castle Rock, CO

Posted 20 January 2010 - 08:27 AM

Wood does damp vibration better than metal, although the differences are minimal. But at high powers every little bit helps. Metal is also a better conductor of heat than wood, which means wood is not as cold to the touch on those chilly nights and will not get coated in dew as soon as metal.

That said, many people use metal tripods quite successfully and happily. Metal tripods are less expensive, which leaves more money for the mount.

#4 pennyandchris

pennyandchris

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: Horsham, England

Posted 20 January 2010 - 03:52 PM