Jump to content


Photo

Celestron software in the CGEM

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 SanDiegoPaul

SanDiegoPaul

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2721
  • Joined: 22 Jul 2005
  • Loc: San Diego

Posted 31 January 2010 - 07:42 PM

What gives with it requiring SAO numbers when you are trying to send it to a star? Why doesn't it accept normal, standard star names such as Deneb, Sirius, etc?

Is there a patch you can apply, that will change this default to SAO? :help:

#2 SchrödingersCat

SchrödingersCat

    Ranger 4

  • *****
  • Posts: 323
  • Joined: 02 Nov 2008

Posted 31 January 2010 - 07:56 PM

select the list button and choose your catalog

#3 SanDiegoPaul

SanDiegoPaul

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2721
  • Joined: 22 Jul 2005
  • Loc: San Diego

Posted 31 January 2010 - 08:04 PM

will that effect the STAR menu option?

#4 DaemonGPF

DaemonGPF

    Redonkulous

  • *****
  • Posts: 8201
  • Joined: 22 Mar 2008
  • Loc: Aurora Colorado

Posted 31 January 2010 - 08:18 PM

You can look up named stars instead under List, Named Stars.

#5 BlueGrass

BlueGrass

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1979
  • Joined: 25 Jul 2009
  • Loc: Wasatch Front, UT

Posted 31 January 2010 - 08:23 PM

No it won't change that menu. One thing that will get you to anything you're interested in, is to use an astro program such as Cartes. That's my preferred program. It interfaces with the CGEM and also helps during centering while taking frame and focus exposures.

#6 SanDiegoPaul

SanDiegoPaul

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2721
  • Joined: 22 Jul 2005
  • Loc: San Diego

Posted 31 January 2010 - 08:29 PM

No it won't change that menu. One thing that will get you to anything you're interested in, is to use an astro program such as Cartes. That's my preferred program. It interfaces with the CGEM and also helps during centering while taking frame and focus exposures.


I actually have it set up with The Sky 6 Pro. I can always slew using that, but there are times when you want to send the scope to a star without using the PC. That list feature is great but cumbersome when compared to just being able to go to a star by looking up it's name in a stars-only catalog.

#7 jrcrilly

jrcrilly

    Refractor wienie no more

  • *****
  • Administrators
  • Posts: 33809
  • Joined: 30 Apr 2003
  • Loc: NE Ohio

Posted 31 January 2010 - 08:37 PM

That list feature is great but cumbersome when compared to just being able to go to a star by looking up it's name in a stars-only catalog.


There is a stars-only catalog by common name. I think you just haven't found it yet.

#8 Eddgie

Eddgie

    Voyager 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 12736
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2006

Posted 31 January 2010 - 08:46 PM

The "Star" button only accepts SAO catalog star numbers (and there are many many thousand). You need the Named Star list.

Press the "List" button.

The window will show some kind of object catalog (it is in alphabetical order).

Use the 6 (Up) and 9 (Down) button to scroll the catalog list to "Named Star" and press the Enter button. The last star name that the telescope slewed to will show in the list.

Use the 6 and 9 button again to move from the current star name in the window to the star name you want, then press Enter. The scope should slew to the target.

#9 SanDiegoPaul

SanDiegoPaul

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2721
  • Joined: 22 Jul 2005
  • Loc: San Diego

Posted 31 January 2010 - 11:03 PM

Eddgie & John thanks a million. I will find it if it's there!

#10 rmollise

rmollise

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15582
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Posted 01 February 2010 - 08:48 AM

What gives with it requiring SAO numbers when you are trying to send it to a star? Why doesn't it accept normal, standard star names such as Deneb, Sirius, etc?

Is there a patch you can apply, that will change this default to SAO? :help:


"List" button, then select "Named Stars." ;)






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics